Healthy Schmealthy, Give Me Deep Fried Cake

on

It was brought to my attention today that I needed to update my list-o-nerdidays.

What? Isn’t it a complete and static list? you might be wondering.

Well, to be honest, it’s not. I can’t honestly say that my list is complete in any way. There are just too many days that require celebrating. And there are too many nerdy things that should be celebrated, but as of yet (as least as far as I know) are not. Hence, the list will probably always remain in a state of flux; a dynamic collection of nerdtastically geekriffic days to celebrate the pocket-protector-wearing, glasses-held-together-by-tape, pants-pulled-up-too-high stereotype that is the nerd.

But back to my point; I was informed by a trusted colleague who is known about the Twitterverse as ChrisLikesPie (and was first introduced to the readers of Consumed By Wanderlust here) that June 3, 2011 is National Donut Day.

National Donut Day? There’s a day to celebrate the awesome goodness that is the donut? Epic! Epic I say! Clearly, this is a celebration that I believe everyone could and should get behind.

And how does one get behind this day? By celebrating in the only way possible; eat a donut. Or possibly two. Just make sure that you balance out your celebration with the appropriate level of activity. I recommend activities such as ‘beer lifting’, or the ‘scotch pour’.

Anyway, while this is not technically a nerdy activity, nerds do like donuts (at least, this nerd does). As such, National Donut Day has been added to the official list-o-nerdidays.

Happy National Donut Day all y’all.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Gah! Why am I only finding out about this at 10:18 p.m., when I’m already at home and cozy and far too lazy to go back out to purchase a donut??

    When I was a kid, I used to work in a donut shop. OD’ing on donuts put me off them for many years, but I have since recovered and now am known to enjoy a ball of deep fried donuty goodness now and again.

    My kingdom for a donut delivery!!

    1. dangillis says:

      Fear not Dr. Beth. National Donut day is actually today (Friday). You still have plenty of time to engage your donut hunting skills.

      1. Beth says:

        w00t!

        In BC, “Boston Cream” donuts have been changed to “Vancouver Cream” donuts for the duration of the Stanley Cup Finals. Perhaps I will go get one of those!

Leave a Reply

