This Run Has 22 Minutes

One of the items on my Not-So-Bucket-List list is to run 5km in under 22 minutes. Up until now, I haven’t really paid it much attention. It’s not that I don’t think that it’s a worthy goal – clearly I do otherwise I wouldn’t have put it on my list. But having run long distances, it didn’t seem to hold the same interest as say, running a marathon.

Well, today was my first official post marathon run. And while my IT bands are still a bit cranky with me, the run was good. And by good, I should say great. In fact, it was so great that my first warm up mile was a 9 minute mile instead of the normal 10 minute mile. And the last 3 miles? Only 22 minutes.

What does this mean? Well, according to the all-knowing all-powerful Google, 3 miles is approximately equal to 4.83km. I’m so close to the 5km mark I can taste it. So. Very. Close.

After my run, and my stretching, and my IT band stripping (a very painful, but oh-so-awesome way to make my IT band happy) I decided to sit down to give this goal a little more consideration. To run 5km in 22 minutes, I need to run 1km every 4 minutes and 24 seconds. Let’s put this into perspective:

  • For a mid-length run (under the half marathon length), I tend to pace at 5 minutes to 5 minutes 15 second per kilometer.
  • For the longer runs I try to pace around the 5 minute 30 mark (although I hope to improve that).

So clearly, running 5km in 22 minutes requires that I pick up the pace significantly. The nice thing, is that after today’s run I realize that this should be within the realm of possibility. My final kilometer took approximately 4 minutes 21 seconds. If I keep up that pace for 5km, I should be able to make the 22 minute goal with seconds to spare. Specifically, maintaining this pace would get me to 5km in 21 minutes 45 seconds. Crazy awesome!

Anyway, having the numbers in front of me makes realize that I have to cross item #103 off my Not-So-Bucket-List before the summer ends. Wish me luck 🙂


9 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    Ugh, and here I was all proud of my lousy 24:47…

    Are you planning to do a 5K race so your sub-22 is “official”? Not that it HAS to be official. Just easier if there are no traffic lights, etc.

    1. dangillis says:

      Not sure yet. I think after some training I might consider it. You know, make it official and such.

  2. Rick says:

    You got this!

Leave a Reply

