East Coast Bound

Well folks, in a few short hours I’ll be boarding a plane with my brother. This marks the 6th travel destination so far this year (which has, up to this point included Hawaii in January, New York in February, Ottawa in March, Calgary in April, Ottawa again in May, and now Nova Scotia in June). A good travel year for sure.

So as I’ve mentioned previously, my destination today is Wolfville, Nova Scotia, via Halifax. The purpose of said travel: to attend (and present) at the Annual Meeting of the Statistical Society of Canada (also known simply as the SSC). W00t! I’m pretty stoked. This will be the first time that I will be presenting at the SSC as not only a Doctor of Statistics, but also as an Assistant Professor (but just call me Ass. Prof. for short). Hopefully my presentation goes well.

Of course, I’m not the only nerd speaking at the SSC. After perusing the schedule, I’ve decided that I should probably see several talks, including one by fellow nerd caucus member, Almost Dr. Lorna. Other talks that I’d like to see range from talks about wavelets, to others focusing on ecological risk assessment and natural resources management; all topics that are relevant to my research.

I also wish that I could have taken part in this talk (Dr. Banerjee is a bit of an idol of mine):

  • Banerjee, Sudipto, Sunday June 12, 9:00-16:00, Workshop of the Biostatistics Section: A Practical Introduction to Hierarchical Modelling for Spatially Referenced Data.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to the conference. I hope my talk goes well, and I hope I get some new ideas for potential research projects. And of course, dear readers, I will keep you informed about all such goings-on during the conference, including any shenanigans that my brother and I get up to. For those unaware, shenanigans are the best type of nanigans to get up to. True story.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Dr. Beth says:

    My hypothesis:

    # shenanigans = amount of beer consumed ^ (# of Gillises present)

    I expect a full report on your research testing this hypothesis upon return.

Leave a Reply

