This Little Piggy Went Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!


On Saturday, Aidan and I made the trek to Simcoe to visit the family. The occasion: a good old-fashioned pig roast. Who wouldn’t want to get in on that? (Well, apart from the obvious answers of vegans, vegetarians, the pork-allergic – is that a thing? – or those that refrain from pork consumption due to religious reasons.)

I for one love pork and all pork related products (or at least those that I’ve tried in my almost 36 years of pork consumption), especially the bacon related products; like bacon, and peameal bacon. Mmmm, bacon.

Anyway, the weather was perfect, the company was great, and the food was porky good, despite the fact that some of the kids weren’t sure they wanted to eat it after seeing it. Personally, I think it’s good to know where your food comes from. I think too often we separate the source of our food from the food that is actually served on the plate. So while it might have been a bit shocking or gross for the kids to see the pig in roasted form, I think it was a good lesson.

Another great lesson; roasted pork is deliciously delicious. Would that I could have continued eating all night. Sadly, my stomach only permits a small amount of food at any one time, so I ate what I could and then sat back and enjoyed the rest of the eve.

And yet another great lesson; my mom makes awesome date squares. And when I’m so full from pork, she gives me a care package filled with nothing but dates squares. I just finished eating one as inspiration for this paragraph. YUM.


Leave a Reply

