Merry Stats-mas Everyone!

Yesterday I received an unexpected email from my friend Michael (who just so happens to be a fellow Statistics nerd). Anyway, it seems that in his recent move he came across a box of statistical textbooks that he no longer needed. He was curious as to whether I’d be able to give them a good home.

Clearly the answer was yes. Yes. Yes. Yes. A thousand times yes.

Even better, he offered to drop them off for me – clearly saving me the awkward bike ride home with a large box full of statistical awesomeness. One wouldn’t want to bike with such a large collection of statistical knowledge, for fear that one might crash and damage the books. True story.

Anyway, after he dropped them off I brought them upstairs and left them sitting on my kitchen counter. I guess I could have opened the box immediately, but it felt a little like Christmas so I decided that I would wait until morning. And that is what I did.

You can imagine how excited I must have been last night. Just lying in my bed, wondering about the box of books that I knew was sitting patiently downstairs, waiting to be opened.

In the morning, I scrambled down the stairs and tore into the box. Well, okay, I had breakfast first, then I tore into the box. One needs strength to get through such a roller coaster of emotions that this box of statistical goodies was sure to bring.

When I finally opened the box, the first thing I saw was a wrapped gift on top. Seriously. A wrapped freaking gift. What the what? Not only had Michael just given me a giant box of awesome, he also included a gift in honour of my recent appointment to the position of Ass. Prof.

Clearly, Michael is a large slice of Awesome Pie.

The gift: an actual record. Not a CD or an MP3. A shiny piece of modern vinyl. The band – The Speakeasies. The song…wait for it…wait for it…

He thinks Calculus is easy.

Hi-freaking-larious!

The books that were in the box-o-statistical-nerdery were also quite awesome. I had to take pictures of them, so that you too could share in the nerdery that was my morning. I’ve already read some of these, but not all of them. I’m not saying that I’m going to sit down and immediately start reading them, but I’m also not saying that I’m not going to do that.

Thanks again Michael. This was the best Stats-mas ever!


One thought on “Merry Stats-mas Everyone!”

  1. I also happen to be the owner of that Kuehl text. I think I even have the same edition! I’m pretty sure I used in my stats course at Guelph – it must be a Guelph thing!

Leave a Reply

