Doing A Happy Dance

Dear item #103 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list (or as I like to call you; 5 in 22).

Let me begin by saying thank you. Thank you for providing me with inspiration, and purpose, and a drive to succeed. You have served your purpose well. And while our relationship has been sometimes rocky (see here for example), know that you have made me a better person.

But as you are aware, relationships aren’t all meant to last forever. People change. I’ve changed. Trust me when I say that it’s me, and not you. I’d like to tell you that I’m sad that I’ve outgrown you, but I’m not – wasn’t that the intention all along? We both knew getting into this thing, that you were just a stepping stone to bigger and better things. I hope you aren’t too upset. Try to remember the good times.

I guess what I’m trying to say, is that your presence on my Not-So-Bucket-List is no longer required. Please pack your things and vacate the premises.

Sincerely,

Me.

P.S. In the spirit of full disclosure – I’m after your cousin. You know the one I’m talking about: 5 in 21. I just feel that I’m so close to 5 in 21, I have to try. Please try to understand. And don’t cry – it does not become you.


I am this happy right now! Actually, I'm probably happier than that, but I digress.

For those unaware, I successfully completed 5km in under 22 minutes yesterday. The run was on the treadmill, mainly because it was so damned hot outside. Of course, I failed to consider that my running room (also known as Dr. Steph’s and Almost Dr. Sean’s guest room whenever they visit), being upstairs and all, was about infinity-billion degrees. Regardless, what’s a little heat when one is running to break a record? Vomit-inducing heat builds character, and such-like.

Anyway, the official results were: 5.03km in 22:00 minutes (which translates to 5km in approximately 21 minutes 52 seconds). Item #103 – you are so off my list. And now onto item #221. That’s right, I’m coming for you sub 21 minute 5km run. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

w00t!


6 Comments Add yours

  1. Dr. Beth says:

    That is crawesome! Way to go! I look forward to the update on you making 5 in 21 your bitch.

    Also, it is crazy that you have 220+ items on your not-so-bucket list – and you are going through them like they are going out of style!

    1. dangillis says:

      I like lists, but I like crossing things off my list even more. w00t w00t!

  2. Dr. Beth says:

    Me too! I’m compiling my next 101 in 1001 days (even though I’m not yet finished my first 1001 days), but sometimes I put something on that list and then I do it, so now I can’t have it on the list anymore because I’ve already done it! I’m starting to see how your rolling list, where you continually add to it, makes a lot of sense.

  3. Rick says:

    Awesome!!

Leave a Reply

