Show Me Your Downward Dog: Week 1

So as I mentioned last Sunday, I started my second yoga challenge this week. Specifically, my 35 day yoga challenge. As of today, I have completed the first 7 days of 35. That’s right folks, I’m 20% done already. w00t!

How is it going? Honestly, it has been great. I love going to yoga every day; and with each day, I’m rediscovering why I love it.

I started the week off with Yin/Acuball. I figured this would be a good way to get back into the daily routine given that it’s a Yin class – that is, a class that isn’t heated, and where poses are held for an extended period of time – and one that includes the use of acuballs (which I’ve chatted about previously). The class is relaxing and rejuvenating, and the use of the acuball was perfect given that my IT band has continued to be a bit of a pain in the butt (no pun intended), what with all of the running/biking and such that I’ve been doing.

Tuesday was my first hot yoga class in I don’t remember how long. And it was awesome. Of course, I was a big bag of sweat before class even started as I had to bike to the studio, and every class since then has been like that. Super. Sweaty. The water wasn’t just dripping off of me, it was pouring off of me. This posed a bit of a challenge when I tried the downward dog position, as said position provided the perfect route for all of the sweat that was pouring off of me to pour right up my nose and into my eyes. Good times.

The week was capped off with a Yin class on Sunday evening. Since the weather was so great, Kelly, the teacher and owner of Moksha Yoga Guelph decided to hold class outside. This was the first time that I’ve ever had a full yoga class outside, and it was an incredible experience. While on the ground in savasana (pronounced shah-vah-sah-nah, with the emphasis on the vah), normally I’d be looking up at the ceiling of the yoga studio. In this case, it was nothing but blue sky. Listening to the sounds of nature, feeling the breeze, and smelling the flowers of the garden gave class a completely different feel. I really hope I get to experience an outdoor class again during my 35 day challenge.

Anyway, my week is summarized below.

  • Monday: Yin/Acuball – 90 minutes
  • Tuesday: Moksha – 60 minutes
  • Wednesday: Moksha Yin – 75 minutes
  • Thursday: Flow (reduced heat) – 75 minutes
  • Friday: Moksha Flow – 60 minutes
  • Saturday: Moksha – 60 minutes
  • Sunday: Yin – 90 minutes
One week down, four to go.
10 Comments Add yours

  1. Dr. Beth says:

    I really need to get back to yoga! Especially since it’s so freaking cold in Vancouver right now – hot yoga is totally what I need! Now if only I could find two more hours in the day…

Leave a Reply

