Today’s Lesson: Do It With Chocolate.

Wow – it’s September 4th already. Apparently I’ve been slacking off on my blog-related duties. I’d like to tell you that I’ve been so busy that I just haven’t had a chance to write, but that wouldn’t really be the case. I’ve been far busier in the past than I am right now, and have always managed to write something.

So what’s the problem Gillis?

I have no idea. I’m going to blame it on zombie-spiders, because why shouldn’t we blame them? They’re spiders, they’re zombies. Clearly they are no-goodniks.

Anyway, I realized this eve that I have been negligent in bringing to you, dear reader, the usual brand of nerdery that you’ve come to expect from Consumed By Wanderlust. For that, I apologize. And while I was going to write a few thoughts about the upcoming semester, I’ve decided they can wait for a day or two, as several other things have been brought to my attention that I feel must be shared with you.

What are those things?

Posing with a pineapple on the black cliffs below our house. Because it seemed like the thing to do.

First, September is officially National Yoga Month. Awesome stuff. This month is a month to embrace your bendy side (or perhaps discover your bendy side), by engaging in the ancient practice of getting one’s bendy on – a.k.a., yoga.

Clearly, the easiest way to celebrate this month is by getting off one’s duff and heading to the studio, or, if you are comfortable doing so, practicing in your very own home. Yoga is one of those activities that really doesn’t require much; some comfortable and stretch-friendly clothing, a yoga mat or towel, some water, and maybe some calming music or background noise. That’s it. And if you don’t know how to practice, simply taking the time to meditate, to stretch, and to breathe is a great start. YouTube also has a bunch of helpful videos, in case you are really curious.

Second, September 4 is World Chocolate Day.

You could be eating this right now.

Are you freaking kidding me?

No, my friends, I am not. You read that correctly. World. Freaking. Chocolate. Day.

So whatever you are doing right now. Stop. Seriously. Just stop. It is your duty, nay, your responsibility, to chocolate-up your life right now. If you are eating bacon and eggs for breakfast – turn that bacon into chocolate covered bacon. If you are having your morning cup of coffee; couldn’t it be a mocha styled coffee? If you aren’t eating or drinking anything, perhaps you should go get yourself a hot chocolate, or a delicious chocolate bar, or perhaps some cocoa puffs, or some chocolate covered coffee beans. Chocolate covered almonds are delicious. As are chocolate covered anythings, really. A chocolate dipped donut? Hells ya. A chocolate croissant? Do you really have to ask?

Ultimately, the most important thing you should take from this post is the following:

Whatever you do today, do it with chocolate.

Strangely enough, I thought I’d google both yoga and chocolate simultaneously. Apparently the idea of mixing yoga and chocolate is not new (see for example, Chocolate Yoga). So, if you feel the need to kill two bendy-chocolate filled birds with one stone, maybe treat yourself to a hot chocolate post yoga, or have some chocolate prior to your practice. Or maybe during it. Whatever. Just remember – do it with chocolate.


UPDATE: It has been brought to my attention by one Mr. Rick (a.k.a. Ricky Fierce), that today also marks Beyonce’s 30th birthday. Do whatever you wish with that information. It does provide a great excuse (not that you need one) to enjoy some chocolate cake. You know, to celebrate her birthday and such.

Happy Chocolate Day all y’all.


Related articles

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    There is no mention of Beyonce’s birthday in this post…

  2. dangillis says:

    I was unaware, as my post was written last night (and I am not the Beyonce fan that you are).

    Regardless, I’ll make the appropriate modification for you. Because I care. I guess.

  3. Beth says:

    I can’t believe I missed World Chocolate Day! In my defence, I had been playing hockey for 8.5 days by the time it hit and was very sleep deprived and delirious. But, seriously man, World Chocolate Day. Must not miss that again next year!

Leave a Reply

