Instagram

So some of you might have noticed a new addition to Consumed By Wanderlust. Did you miss it? It’s over there, to the right; it’s called Snappy Shots.

Cuz they’re snap shots I took with my iPhone, and they’re snappy. Ha. I kill me. No? I’m on my own here? Fine, I’m okay with that.

Anyway, it all started not so long ago when I downloaded an app that someone told me about, or I read about, or maybe it just magically appeared on my iPhone. I forget. But I can’t be expected to remember all of my comings and goings, can I? Back to the point at hand; I had at some point downloaded an app, and that app is called Instagram.

So what’s so special about Instagram, other than the fact that I downloaded it? I mean, really, it’s just another app that allows one to take photos with their iPhone. Big freaking deal. The difference here is that it’s rather simple (for those simple-minded shutter bugs like myself), it has instant funky visual effects (who doesn’t like instant funky visual effects), and one can automatically upload their snapshots to a live stream of photos (think Twitter, but consisting of pictures instead of 140 characters).

Instagram also comes with the option of adding a note to each photo, commenting on someone else’s photos, liking a photo, or instantly sending the photo to any number of other sites (i.e., Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Flickr, etc.). I’ve got mine set up to send the photos to a Flickr account, which are then automatically streamed to my Snappy Shots section over there to the right. Cool!

Oh, and did I mention it’s a free app? Because it is. And everyone loves free, right? 

Anyway, let’s talk about those instant funky visual effects that I mentioned above. There are fifteen major effects, each of which are illustrated below (because it’s far easier to SHOW you what the program does, than describing it). So I present to you dear readers, a picture of me during my climb of Mt. Yamnuska, which is just outside of Calgary. I hiked this with Rick and some other friends last September. I can’t believe it was a year ago already. Crazy times. Back to the point of this post – the picture is presented first in ‘normal’ view, and then with each of the 15 filters.

Moral of the story – you should download this app. Because it’s free, it’s fun, and all the cool kids are doing it. Okay, the latter point might not be true. I’m not really up on what the cool kids are doing. Shocking, I know.

Happy photo taking, all y’all.


Normal
X-Pro II
Lomo-Fi
Earlybird
Sutro
Toaster
Brannan
Inkwell
Walden
Hefe
Apollo
Poprocket
Nashville
Gotham
1977
Lord Kelvin

Related articles

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

