Papers, Papers, Papers

So I sat down today to make a list, as list-making is something that this self-proclaimed nerd loves to do. Today’s list was a sort of to-do list, but the phrase to-do doesn’t really capture the spirit of said list. You see, the list in question is actually a collection of all of the projects that I’m currently working on, that should end with the submission of at least one paper for peer review. Nerdtastic!

Anyway, I guess to be more accurate I would describe the list as a working-on list. But, really, that’s beside the point.

While the list is a bit lengthy, the process of making it allowed me to come back to reality. I’m generally pretty good at handling multiple things at once, but every now and then things become a bit unbalanced and I need to refocus. I learned long ago that lists help me accomplish that. I find that if I can write down everything, I can then prioritize what I’m doing. And if I can prioritize the list, it means I have some sort of perceived control over the projects, which helps me to breathe easier. And if yoga has taught me anything, it’s all about the breathing. Once that goes, balance, clear-headedness, and a sense of calm are pretty much out of the question. At least that is the case for me.

Me. Before and after list making.

So, given that I’ve been working on various grant applications, and my other projects had fallen to the side, a list seemed like the thing to do. And after making that list, I feel as if I can breathe again (despite the fact that I have over 16 papers to work on).

The silver lining to having so many projects is that I have the opportunity to cross off items #4 and #5 on my Not-So-Bucket-List list.

I have to say that I’m excited about a number of them, and am actually looking forward to working on them once the grant application season ends. I have a project lined up with Dr. Steph, another with Almost Dr. Lorna (assuming certain things fall into place), two with Dr. Victoria and Almost Dr. Sean, and then a number of solo efforts. I’ll keep you posted on said papers, and let you know the minute they are submitted. Better yet, I’ll probably do a jig if any of them are accepted. W00t!


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    That is a lot of papers. It makes me tired just thinking about that many papers.

    Also, we totally need to come up with a project to collaborate on. We must!

Leave a Reply

