Suffering A Mad Case Of Pantal-Distension

Turkey dinner, as seen by Haley.

As most of us in Canada are probably struggling within the confines of our pants, what with the bulk of us having just finished Thanksgiving dinner (or leftovers from last night as is the case with me), I thought it was time to reflect on that for which I am thankful.

Of course, family and friends are huge on this list. I mean, really, how could they not be? They’ve been there for me through thick and thin, have seen me at my highest highs and my lowest lows, and they’ve continued to stick by me, cheer for me, and in some cases, kick me square in the ass when I required it. They have done this, and continue to do this without asking for anything in return, except that I be the best person that I can possibly be. How can I not be thankful for them, and for all that they have done (and continue to do) for me. I am the man I am because of them.

The wee fuzzball, snuggling in my duvet.

Clearly I can’t forget Elliot. Elliot is a part of my family now, but I figured I should add him here separately because he is particularly special. He is my roomie, and he gets to see me more often than anyone at this point. He is my shadow, and my companion, and while he may only be sucking up to me because I provide him with treats and belly rubs, he really has changed my life for the better. I am thankful that he interrupts me while I’m trying to work late into the night. I am thankful that he likes to snuggle constantly. I am thankful that he’s a little furnace because I’m always freezing. I’m also thankful that he is so freaking cute that I am forced (forced I say) to stay in bed a little longer in the morning to dispense the required allotment of morning belly rubs, and suchlike.

I’m very clearly thankful for my job. I’ve been meaning to post about this for some time now, but I really am amazed that I get paid what I do for doing something that I love to do. Of course there are times when I get frustrated with certain aspects of my job, but ultimately, I love it. I giggle whenever I get paid. I smirk whenever I think about how lucky I am to do something that brings me so much joy. And I am amazingly fortunate that this job was created specifically for me, especially at a time when the economy wasn’t the best. It really does feel like the perfect fit, and to say I’m happy would be a gross understatement.

Teaching my nieces how to do a head stand.

I am thankful for my health. While I have been frustrated by surgery and hernia related stuff recently, I am very fortunate to be as healthy as I am. I am strong, I can run and bike long distances, and I get to practice yoga almost daily. I feel centred and balanced, and when I get frustrated or annoyed or stressed, all of these healthful things have a way of grounding me and bringing me back to reality; to the simple act of breathing through whatever might be causing me distress.

I have a roof over my head, and plenty of food in my cupboards. That is more than most. And while I don’t think about it often because – I’ll admit it – I take these things for granted, when I do reflect on that for which I am blessed, I realize how lucky I am to have these simple things.

I have seen a lot of the world, and I am one of the few that has been fortunate enough to travel. And I continue to travel. My job provides both the means and the time to permit this, and I couldn’t be luckier or happier about that. As we all know, I have a severe case of wanderlust, so being able to travel is more than just a simple blessing in my life. It is my life. And for that I am truly grateful.

The list really could go on, but I don’t want to bore you. Instead, I’ll offer you a collection of photos from the weekend that was Thanksgiving 2011, as well as a video that I shot while at the Norfolk County Fair. It was a great weekend. I managed to fit in several visits with friends, got to see most of my family, and generally was able to relax and enjoy the beautiful weather. It truly was an amazing weekend. And yes, I’m thankful for that too.

Anyway, I hope your weekend was just as full as mine. And I thank you for taking the time to read this little blog. It also has been a source of much happiness in my life, and I’m grateful that you take the time to read it.

Happy Thanksgiving all y’all.



5 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    I love that you giggle when you get paid. I’ve had my big girl job for 4.5 years and I still get a thrill every other week when money shows up in my bank account. Every. Other. Week. I think it comes from being a student for so long, where we did the stuff we loved to do, but had to pay through the nose to do it. Like you, I *love* my job and the fact that they give me money to do it is a thing for which I’ve very, very thankful!

    And I’m thankful for your friendship, Dr. Dan. You rock!

    1. dangillis says:

      Ditto Dr. Beth. Ditto long time and repeatedly.

  2. Kate says:

    In England pants are underwear. The first sentence of this post is pretty amazing when anglicized. Kind of like when you read fortune cookies and add “in bed” to the end of each fortune. Hee hee.

    1. dangillis says:

      That is hilarious. A friend of mine told me a story about needing to purchase pants while travelling. She asked her friend, whom understood the anglicized version of pants, where she might find a pair of corduroy pants. Obviously hilarity ensured – especially given that the anglicized friend figured out quickly what was up, yet still made a point of asking the salespeople for corduroy pants. The salespeople, also anglicized, really didn’t know what to do.

Leave a Reply

