Tomorrow You May Be Eaten – Words To Live By

It’s National Blog Posting Month. Or for those in the know, NaBloPoMo. Seriously. It’s a thing. I don’t make this stuff up. Okay, sometimes I do. But in this case, I didn’t. Just ask Dr. Beth – she was after all the one who informed me about this particular festival of the blog.

As far as I can tell, the goal is simply to publish every day for the entire month. I’m not sure that I’m going to commit to that exactly; however, I will commit to 30 posts in 30 days. That way, if I’m swamped one day, I can make up for it on another. So far I’m ahead of the curve as this will make my 4th post in 3 days:

If I include the new page for the first ever Consumed By Wanderlust contest, then we’re up to 5 posts in 3 days. I’m on a roll. W00t!

Anyway, for fear of having “Worst Blog Post Entry Ever” on repeat in my head (and clearly voiced by Comic Book Guy), informing you of NaBloPoMo is not the entire purpose of this post. It’s also to inform you of my other newest challenge (NaBloPoMo being the first challenge): Marathon the 2nd.

That’s right folks, I’m picking up where I left off prior to my hiatal hernia surgery back in the old time-y days of August. That is, I’m starting my slow but steady return to running and the elusive sub 4 hour marathon. While I’ve been trying to get my ass back into running since surgery – and I have made several attempts – I’ve had to abandon all of them because I wasn’t quite feeling it. Don’t get me wrong, the running part felt great. The abs, however, disagreed completely. They tired far too easy, and often included weird stitching/pain/pulling – I’m not sure what I’d call it to be honest – both during and after running. I just know something down below didn’t feel quite right. So I figured I’d err on the side of caution and continue to heal.

What’s different now? Well, after having some time to contemplate life while sipping some scotch at the top of a mountain with Rick and Paul, and then following that up with some reflection in a dark wet cave, I realized that my body was ready. I mean, if I could hike to the top of a mountain in 2 hours, run down it in 25 or so odd minutes, then crawl around on my belly in some rather tight spaces, surely my abs were good to go.

So, with this in mind, I set November 1 as my get back on the horse day. And while the run wasn’t all that long or intense (20 minutes, 3.72 kilometres), it felt awesome. Today marked my second run. I ran the first mile in 10 minutes, and then kicked it up a notch. I managed to hammer out 2.125 more miles in 15 minutes, 55 seconds. In other words, 3.42 kilometres in 15:55, or a pace of about 4:40 per kilometre. Not my fastest pace by any means, but it felt good. I’m sure my muscles will be feeling it tomorrow – but in a good way. And my abs – they feel great. No pain. No stitching. No pulling. Awesome.

Anyway, wish me luck on this my return to marathoning. It’s going to be a long hard road of running, but it’s going to be so worth it. Oh, and for your viewing pleasure, I offer you this wonderful bit of ridiculum that I found on the interwebs. Every time I look at it, I laugh. This, dear friends, is why the internet was invented.


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    We will look epic in our Ottawa pics (ha!). I think I’m going to run the Goodlife Half on May 6th just for the nifty infographic, too. I feel like you should have one…and there was chocolate and a beer voucher in last year’s race kit, so…yeah. 😉

    1. dangillis says:

      Oooh, that sounds like a great idea. If all goes well with training, I’m going to have to try for a personal best half marathon. And plus, it is on my Not-So-Bucket-List. While it isn’t explicit, the ‘do another half marathon’ is intended to be an official half marathon, not just the training that one does when one trains for a marathon.

      Also, beer and chocolate? This should be part of the standard race kit fare.

  2. Beth says:

    Where did you find those NaBloPoMo badges? I couldn’t find badges when I looked on the NaBloPoMo site!

    Also, I would like to point out that 4:40 per km is faster than I’ve ever run. I probably don’t even bike that fast!

    1. dangillis says:

      I found the badges randomly via the almighty Google. I think I just searched NaBloPoMo, then went to images. Yup – just verified that.

      As for 4:40 per km, that won’t be my race time I’m sure. That’s just for a short spurt. Granted, if I want to get under 20 minutes for a 5km run, I still have quite a lot of work to do 🙂

Leave a Reply

