Qreativity

So the other day I decided that I haven’t been nearly creative enough. That is to say, I used to draw, paint, and even animate. Instead, I find myself constantly staring at a computer, working with data, manipulating equations, and reading scientific papers. Don’t get me wrong, I love all of that. However, I think I need to get a little bit creative. Maybe more so than just writing here at Consumed By Wanderlust.

Being the type of person that I am (read – a huge procrastinator, and someone who will opt for something fun to do when really I should be writing about eleventy-billion papers), I decided that I’d do something about it today.

To begin, this morning while I was securely protected from the cold in my duvet-cum-cocoon, I started thinking how I might apply this need to be creative to the Bring Q To Guelph campaign and further show my support for The Bracelet of Hope charity. Between meetings this afternoon, I searched the interwebs via the all-knowing and all-powerful Google for computer programs that one might use if one were thinking about getting creative with animation. Of course, I also wanted something that was free, as I really had never used an animation program before (all my previous animation was done with pencil to paper).

After an extensive search (which lasted about 0.3 seconds), I stumbled on Pencil. It is free, and it is fantastic. It does everything that I wanted it to do. For free. And did I mention how free it is? Wicked. Freaking. Awesome.

Anyway, I’ve spent the better part of my evening constructing the following video instead of working on the aforementioned eleventy-billion papers. I’ll probably hate myself for that later, but for now I’m just going to bask in the warming glow of my newly rendered project. I hope you enjoy it.



Oh – and for the record – I really haven’t gotten used to hearing the sound of my own voice. Gah I say. Gah.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Adorable! Also, I like this freeness of which you speak.

  2. Julie says:

    So creative! I love this video 🙂

Leave a Reply

