Three Violins, A Cello, A Piano, And Tori

Tori Amos at Massey Hall, December 8, 2011. Photo credit: Tom Pandi

Wow, has it really been 5 days since my last post? Sorry folks, I guess things just got a bit hectic. Trust me, it’s not for lack of things to write about. Quite the opposite.

For example, last Thursday night I headed to Massey Hall in Toronto with Dom to cross off item #35 from my Not-So-Bucket-List list. That item: see Tori Amos in concert.

Now, dear readers, you should be aware that Tori Amos has been on my list of favourite musicians since I was first introduced to her by a friend in high school. Since that time I have wanted to see her in concert but never managed to do so; either because I was unaware of the opportunity, or because I wasn’t able to go. Thankfully that all changed on Thursday.

Photo credit: Tom Pandi

And holy shite, what a concert! I’ve been thinking about the concert since Thursday, and I can honestly say that I think this is in the list of my top five concerts. It may even be number 1. It was that good. It probably didn’t hurt that Tori was accompanied by her piano, and a string quartet including 3 violins, and 1 cello. For those unaware, I’m a sucker for strings. The combination of Tori’s voice with the strings – incredible. After every song I could hear people around me commenting to their friends about how amazing the last song was. This of course between applause, and various hooting and hollering.

Photo credit: Tom Pandi

It’s hard for me to pick my favourite pieces of the evening, but I think at least two of them were Spark, and her cover of Fleetwood Mac‘s Songbird. Amazing. Simply amazing.

For Spark, she pounded on the side of the piano to capture the drums one would typically hear on the track. As for Songbird, the song itself is beautiful and Tori does an incredible job of living up to the standard set by Stevie Nicks.

Honestly though, I think Tori could sing the phonebook and impress me. Her voice is incredible and I am so happy that I’ve finally been able to see her in concert. For those of you who might be fans, you have to check out one of her concerts. Tori on CD is amazing, but Tori live is amazing on a completely different level. I know for sure that I’ll be seeing her again.

Anyway, for those of you that might be interested, I’ve linked several of the performances from Thursday’s concert below (at least, what I could find). I’ve also added the set list.


Shattering Sea

Playboy Mommy

Father Lucifer

Songbird (Fleetwood Mac) – Note, this video is not from the Massey Hall concert, but it gives you an idea of the brilliance of the song, and of Tori.


Setlist:

  • Shattering Sea
  • Way Down
  • Suede
  • Star of Wonder (John Hopkins cover) (Solo)
  • Nautical Twilight
  • Maybe California
  • Jackie’s Strength (Solo)
  • Cooling (Solo)
  • Playboy Mommy (Solo)
  • Winter
  • Spark
  • Star Whisperer
  • Take to the Sky (Solo)
  • Taxi Ride (Solo)
  • Songbird (Fleetwood Mac cover) (Solo)
  • Fearlessness
  • Hey Jupiter
  • Spring Haze
  • Cruel

Encore:

  • A Multitude of Shades
  • Father Lucifer
  • Edge of the Moon
  • Precious Things
  • Big Wheel

11 Comments Add yours

  1. xandimusic says:

    fantastic songs, like and enjoy them.
    Xandi

  2. Dom says:

    sorry, music nerd correction: 2 violins, 1 viola, and 1 cello! and yes, it was indeed so awesome! thanks so much for taking me ^__^

  3. Dom says:

    sorry, music nerd correction: 2 violins, 1 viola, and 1 cello! and yes, it was indeed so awesome! thanks so much for taking me ^__^. btw, who was the opening act?!

    1. dangillis says:

      Clearly I’m an instrumental neophyte πŸ™‚

      The opening act was Thomas Dybdahl (http://www.thomasdybdahl.com/)

  4. Rick says:

    Forgot you were going to this! Glad it was an awesome concert πŸ™‚

    1. dangillis says:

      It was amaze-balls covered in awesome sauce.

  5. r0uge says:

    great concert; glad you were finally able to attend
    I, too, enjoyed Songbird. (Christine McVie wrote it & performed it for Fleetwood Mac, btw. I commented to my friend after the show: I wonder if Tori has met Christine… they both live in England, don’t they?)

    1. dangillis says:

      I didn’t know that (re: Christine McVie)! That’s my new thing for the day πŸ™‚
      For some reason I seem to think that Tori does live in England, but I have no idea why I think that. Perhaps something I read once?

      1. r0uge says:

        I read that, too. Cornwall, or somewhere in the south of England.

        Fleetwood Mac concerts used to end with McVie singing “Songbird” (usually the encore, or 2nd encore). I was lucky enough to see it once in person.

        I saw Tori in concert at the Molson Ampitheatre once; she covered Stevie’s “Landslide” and I basically wept.

        1. dangillis says:

          I’ve yet to see Fleetwood Mac, but I’m sure it would be amazing.
          And I’d love, love, love to hear Tori doing Landslide live. That is one of my favourite songs.

Leave a Reply

