I’m Apparently Not Very Sweet

A blood glucose meter thing-y. This is not my reading.

I decided when I was visiting my parents the other eve to test my blood glucose levels. Given that there is a history of diabetes in the family, I am typically proactive about this sort of thing and thus have it tested regularly. However, since my mom has one of those fancy blood glucose-meters (or whatever they are actually called), it seemed easier to just test it myself than go to the doctor’s office. I’m efficient like that.

Anyway, I wasn’t expecting anything bad – I mean, I know I’m a healthy individual – however, I did snarf down a slice of banana bread about an hour or two prior to the test, so I assumed my reading would be somewhat high (not diabetic high, but high). I was very wrong. In fact, I was rather surprised.

My reading was 3.9. Based on the all-powerful Google and the all-powerful Wiki, I’ve learned that

“The American Diabetes Association recommends a post-meal glucose level of less than 10 mmol/L (180 mg/dl) and a pre-meal plasma glucose of 5 to 7.2 mmol/L (90–130 mg/dL).” [Wikipedia]

If I understood the glucose-meter, my post-meal (whereby I’m calling a slice of banana bread a meal) reading was 3.9 mmol/L. I haven’t as of yet figured out if this is a good thing or a bad thing. The last time a medical professional tested my sugar levels, I was A-OK. I’m assuming that this is still the case.

So dear readers, I have two questions for you:

  1. What’s up with my reading?
  2. What’s your reading?
For more information about blood sugar and diabetes, perhaps check out the Canadian Diabetes Association.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    The word you are looking for is “glucometer.” Or “glucose meter” – it’s called that too!

    As for your reading, I think this is similar to your extremely low pulse (or was it blood pressure?) Basically, you are so healthy that you are pretty much undead.

    As for my reading, the last time I had it done, I was also given the highly scientific diagnosis of “A-OK.” But I didn’t get the actual number and it was quite a while ago, so maybe I should get it tested again! Because I’m a nerd like that.

  2. adaynasmile says:

    It sounds like you are healthy. I wouldn’t worry about it. 🙂

    I am not sure what my last test results were as I have not seen my doctor since having them taken but I am assuming they are good since my doctor hasn’t called to tell me otherwise.

    Thanks for linking up to my blog post!

    1. dangillis says:

      No problem for the link 🙂
      I feel rather healthy, but I’ll probably still get my levels checked when I see the doctor next (better to be proactive, no?).

      Also, when it comes to the land of medicine, no news is always good. At least, that’s what I’ve been led to believe.

Leave a Reply

