The Morning After The Night Before

Lincoln Centre fountain and Christmas tree

Today is my last day in New York City. And unless something crazy happens between now and the new year, it’s my last day in NYC this year. Excuse me, I have something in my eye. *sniff*

Yesterday was another walk-our-butts-off kind of day. I think, however, that our wandering was a little slower than the previous two days. The weather was grey, but the temperature was generally nice. Not too hot, not too cold.

We began our day at Good Enough To Eat. I really felt that Aidan needed to try this place because the food has always been fantastic, the atmosphere friendly, and best of all it’s a short walk from the hotel. Given that I was feeling a little morning-after-the-night-before, a shorter walk seemed far superior to a longer walk. We also figured a mimosa might be in order given the ole hair-of-the-dog theory. While it wasn’t the cure-all that I’d hoped, it was pretty good. By about 11:30, with the help of the mimosa, some hearty oatmeal, coffee, water, and bacon, I was feeling like a real human being again.

Mmmm, oatmeal at Good Enough To Eat.

Following breakfast we took the subway down to the Financial District. I hadn’t been down there in quite some time and I wanted to see how the new Freedom Tower (or whatever it’s going to be called) was coming along. At this point, they have slightly more than half of the 104 floors complete. And this thing is freaking epic. So far, the building looks beautiful. It is clearly going to tower above all the other buildings around it.

We also took some time to check out the Brooklyn bridge, Battery Park, the piers, and the Staten Island Ferry; all along admiring the architecture of the buildings. For those not in the know, the Staten Island Ferry is a cheap (read free) and very civilized way to view the Statue of Liberty up close and personal (mind you, not as up close and personal as actually visiting the statue) without the hassle of paying and dealing with a lot of tourist crowds. Simply walk to the Staten Island Ferry terminal and board. It’s as simple as that. And did I mention that it’s free? The ferry also provides some excellent views of the lower Manhattan skyline. For those interested, you can also purchase beverages inside the boat to enjoy with the scenery. Given our morning-after-the-night-before morning, we opted to simply enjoy the scenery.

Of course, walking builds an appetite. We decided that our lunch/dinner should involve something hearty, wholesome, and comforting. It seemed to fit with the weather. So, we headed to Lincoln Square to sample the wares of Ed’s Chowder House. Verdict: best idea of the day. We ordered a bowl of mussels to start, and then both opted for stuffed clam chowder. Translation: regular clam chowder with loads of shrimp, scallops, lobster, and crab stuffed into it – so much so, that the chowder transforms from soup to stew. Aidan ordered the New England version (i.e., cream based), while I chose the Manhattan version (i.e., tomato based). The chowder was fantastic. We actually might be returning there today for lunch.

The rest of the eve consisted of more wandering and such. At some point in the later eve, I decided hot chocolate was the only thing that would soothe my weary soul. Thankfully, I found a chocolate spot near the hotel that I have to return to today. Seriously, this was the best hot chocolate I’ve ever had in my life. Rich, creamy, full of dark chocolate goodness. And all soy based. YUM! Sadly, I don’t remember the name of it so I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

Anyway, here’s to my last day in New York. *sniff*.

Damn, there’s something in my eye again.



Related articles

6 Comments Add yours

  1. travelingmad says:

    Great photos! Something back home that I’ve never done was ice skating at Rockefeller Center. It’s on the to-do list for my American travels.

    1. dangillis says:

      I haven’t done that either. I think perhaps I’ll add it to my list as well – I have already added running Central Park. Given all my adventures in New York, it’s a little sad I’ve done neither of these.

  2. Natalie says:

    I love this post. It brings back so many memories of last Christmas for me. I really feel we missed out on so much and cannot wait to return. Thanks for the ping-back. I will look forward to what you have to write about in the future. Have a great Christmas.

    1. dangillis says:

      No matter how many times I go to New York, it always offers up a unique experience. I love the city so much!

      Merry Christmas to you too.

Leave a Reply

