Extreme Pantal Dysmorphia

Eyeing the Christmas decorations; suspiciously for some reason.

I’m not sure about you, but I woke up today feeling full. Seriously. I blame the bacon wrapped scallop appetizers. And the hummus and crackers. And the caviar. And the shrimp and asparagus spears. And the mimosas and bacon breakfast. And the Irish-ed coffees. And the turkey. And the stuffing. And the gravy. And the wine. And the several pieces of baked goodies that I stuffed down my gob (I’m looking at you strawberry rhubarb pie, lemon tarts, and mincemeat tarts). And the scotch. No wait. I take that back. I can never blame the scotch.

Of course, I can’t blame myself for this lack of control. I am only human, and as such am completely powerless in a situation where my food-hole is tempted with vast amounts of delicious treats. Clearly, this over-stuffing and pantal dysmorphia has to be blamed on someone or something other than myself. Damn you Christmas treats.

Okay, that’s a load of rubbish.

I can only blame myself. Thankfully, I’m not in as bad a situation as I might have painted. That is, yes I did over-stuff my food-hole yesterday, and yes I did wake up feeling less than hungry this morning, but I don’t feel that I overdid it on a level that would cause me to curse Christmas treats in any real way. Especially since they are so tasty and wonderful.

To dispel any sort of inkling that I was on a downward binge eating spiral, I opted to head out for a run today. The weather was perfect, the skies were clear, the air just crisp enough. The first part of my run seemed a bit sluggish; like I had to slough off the excesses of the previous days before my body would start moving properly. Thankfully, that didn’t take too long, and I managed a solid 5+ km run in 27 minutes. My time, not including the post 5 km mark cool-down, was 25 minutes (or 5 minutes per km). Not a bad time, all things – read Christmas treats stuffed into my food-hole – considered.

Anyway, I hope you’ve all enjoyed your Christmas festivities. I’m going to celebrate my run by enjoying a tasty scotch – thanks again Dom – while watching something mindless on the old boob-tube. For your viewing pleasure, I leave you with some of the photos that I snapped over the last few days.



3 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    We truly, truly are twins. Because I also went for a run yesterday for the exact same reason: extreme pantal dysmorphia caused by Christmas feasting! I went for a nearly 9 km run, but the scenery here on Vancouver Island is so beautiful, that it felt like it only took about 20 minutes, even though I was running for an hour. I was totally in the zone. The Christmas zone!

Leave a Reply

