Family, Nerds, And Gigantor-Jesus: It Must Be Christmas

The stockings were hung by the hospital easel with care.

Having returned to a somewhat normal existence (whereby normal means snuggling with Elliot for hours while working, enjoying late breakfasts, lunching on leftovers, and snacking on the remaining bits and pieces of Christmas cookie goodness), I thought I’d take a moment to say thanks to everyone that made this Christmas amazing. Considering the events of 1 month ago – you know, that pesky little car accident that nearly sidelined my brother permanently – Christmas could have been very different.

Instead, Christmas was weird and wonderful. I think that’s the way to describe it. I mean, it has to be weird when you spend part of Christmas morning opening gifts with your nieces in the conference room of the Norfolk General Hospital in Simcoe. And it also has to be considered a little bit weird when your older brother is confined to a bed due to the aforementioned car accident. And it’s also just a little weird that we (meaning my parents, me, and my younger brother) almost forgot to open our own gifts after returning home from the hospital and deciding to have leftover Christmas-eve appetizers. It’s probably also weird that I had a bacon and mimosa and irish coffee breakfast. Ah, who am I kidding? That’s the most non-weird part about this Christmas.

But the weirdest thing of all about this Christmas, was how not-weird it all seemed. The family was together, even if the situation were odd. The day was filled with food, and drink, laughter, and much carrying-on. It was, by all accounts, a typical family Christmas. The kids were stoked about Santa, we all stuffed our faces with turkey and cookies and other holiday fare. The surroundings might have differed from the norm, but clearly that didn’t matter. The point was that we were together, and that was the most important thing.

A Christmas gathering of nerds.

Beyond spending time with my family, it was also great to be able to see friends that I don’t get to see all the time. Case in point: Rick dropped by on Friday prior to us heading to The Works downtown to meet up with part of the Nerd Caucus (Jasper, Jenn, and Warren), as well as Janet, and Dr. Rob (who still has that new PhD smell).

Prior to the nerd gathering, Rick gave me a most awesome Christmas gift. The card was hilarious and borderline inappropriate – just the way I like them. The gift included a package of Enchanted Unicorn Bandages. I assume their enchanted nature is derived from unicorn tears, because according to this website, unicorn tears have magical healing powers.

The gift also included a Watch It Grow Jesus. What exactly is a Watch It Grow Jesus? It’s a small figurine of Jesus – about an inch in size. If you place it in water, it is supposed to grow 600%. Why would a Mini-Jesus figurine want to grow 600%? Well, according to the packaging, Mini-Jesus wants to grow because he’s awesome. I can’t argue with that. So dear readers, in the interest of watching Mini-Jesus grow into Gigantor-Jesus (which is what I’m calling the 600% larger version of Mini-Jesus), I’ve dropped him into a glass of room temperature water as directed and am now patiently waiting for him to grow. Sadly, this transformation will take a little longer than 3 days. Ten days to be exact. Although Mini-Jesus is awesome, I’m guessing he doesn’t quite have the same powers as the real Jesus. For those curious, he also sank to the bottom of the glass of water, so he doesn’t do the H2O walk like the real Jesus either.

Anyway, I guess for now I’ll just sip my scotch as I wait for the appearance of Gigantor-Jesus. Until then, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year everyone. I hope your holidays have been as fantastic as mine.



Related articles

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    That Jesus better grow 600%! Or else. Glad you had a great Christmas, nerd. It was awesome to see you. Not as awesome as Jesus, but awesome nonetheless. 🙂

    1. dangillis says:

      Are you challenging the 600% growing awesomeness that is the Mini-Jesus? I’d bet that when he becomes Gigantor-Jesus, he’s going to be full of Gigantor-Jesus rage. Gigantor-Jesus rage that he’s going to take out on you for questioning his ability to grow 600%.

      And I guess on some level, it was awesome to see you too. 😉

      1. dangillis says:

        I now feel that Raging Gigantor-Jesus would make for an awesome kids Saturday morning cartoon.

  2. Beth says:

    Glad to hear that your Christmas was awesome, despite the unusual location for Christmas festivities!

Leave a Reply

