Certifiably Certifiable


Hmm, me thinks I might have bitten off a bit much. That, or if I manage to complete everything that I just wrote down in a very fancy-pants spreadsheet of walking-running-biking-yoga‘ing, then I’ll officially be certifiable. Or awesome. Maybe both.

What exactly did I just write down in this fancy-pants spreadsheet that I keep yammering on about?

Well, I decided that I should set up a bit of a training schedule for the coming year. The current schedule suggests that I will walk about 1392 km (which is less than the goal that I had set here). It also suggests that I’ll be running 1615.70 km (more than twice my original goal).

So many kilometres of running. Right now, the thought freaks me out a bit. But those are necessary given the fact that I’m thinking about taking part in most if not all of the following races:

  • March 25 – Around the Bay 30K
  • April 15 – Run for Retina Half Marathon
  • April 29 – Chocolate Run 10 Miler
  • May 6 – Toronto Goodlife Marathon
  • May 27 – Ottawa Marathon
  • June 30 – Pride Run 5km
  • August 12 – Acura 10 Miler
  • August 18 – Midsummer’s Night 30K (also known as the Dan & Carolyn Run for Unicorns)
  • August 31 – Mudpuppy Twilight Trail Run 8K
  • October 14 – Toronto Waterfront Marathon
  • November 3 – 13th Annual Cookie Run 10K

And given that three of the races are marathons, lots of running is essential.

Another essential component: rest. So with that in mind you’d think that all of the walking and running and racing would be sufficient for this simple man. But you’d be wrong. Because I’m insane, clearly. My trusty little spreadsheet also suggests that I’m going to bike 2675 km – a full 675 km more than my original goal.

In total, we’re talking 5682.7 km. That’s a little more than 15.5 km per day. Let me repeat that – per day. Yikes.

But hold on folks, I’m not finished. I’ve also listed 25890 minutes of yoga in my spreadsheet. So, if I assume each kilometer of walking takes 12 minutes, each kilometer of running takes 5.5 minutes, and each kilometer of biking takes 3.2 minutes, we’re talking 60040.35 minutes of activity. Or in other words 1000.67 hours, or 41.69 full days of non-stop walking, running, biking, and yoga. I’m tired already.

But you know what, it won’t happen unless I try. And even if I don’t complete all of these things (I mean, I am only human and this does seem a bit extreme), I’m still going to have fun trying. And that’s really all that matters.

Of course, if you find me in the street in the fetal position, crying, exhausted, and demanding that someone let me sleep, please lead me to a bed. I’ll thank you whenever I manage to regain consciousness.


19 Comments Add yours

  1. If Jesus can spend 40 days and 40 nights in the desert, you can spend 41 days running, walking, biking and yoga-ing!

  2. Carolyn says:

    Chocolate and cookie runs?!? Sweet (literally – ha!). I do believe you are going to out-awesome me in 2012. I hope Patrick is ready to beat your IT bands into submission.

    1. dangillis says:

      I should chat with Patrick to make sure he’s aware of what I’m about to do. As for me out-awesome-ing you – doubtful. I think the simple fact that we want to run 2 marathons in a month says it all. Everything else is just icing on the cake.

  3. sweetopiagirl says:

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  4. Rick says:

    I think you need a run in September. How about the supposed half marathon in Milton?! September 16th… 🙂

    1. dangillis says:

      I shall add it to my list. Which means you have to come for a visit. W00t! Maybe to celebrate the run, we should follow it up with the CN Tower walk?

Leave a Reply

