It’s The End Of The World As We Know It

Oh nooooes! Look out earth - it's a giant doomsday meteor. (Image via http://2012-end-of-the-world.comoj.com/)

So it’s a full 47 or so hours into 2012 and I have to say – so far, so good. In fact, as far as I’m aware the earth has not been struck by a major end-of-everything-as-we-know-it type meteor. I’m not saying it hasn’t been – I mean, perhaps it has and I’m simply living in my weird version of heaven, where I get to continue working and cooking for myself like a sucker, and I have no idea that the world was just destroyed in a rather fantastical manner.

Seriously though, what the hell type of heaven would that be? If that were my heaven, I’d immediately demand a recount, or whatever would be needed to get me into the better heaven. You know the better heaven I’m talking about – the one with all the beaches and sunshine and servants that enjoy serving drinks and fanning guests so that they stay cool in the aforementioned sunshine, the rivers of free-flowing and unpolluted non-fattening chocolate, the grape vines that grow wine-filled grapes; the good heaven. I digress.

Anyway, assuming that the world has not in fact been destroyed by a massive meteor (or come to some other untimely end), and I am not in some weird substandard heaven, I repeat that 2012 has been – so far, so good. By that, I mean that I’ve managed to keep on top of my yoga and running (2 days out of 2 – w00t – 100% track record), and I’ve managed to almost complete two draft manuscripts; each of which will be submitted to some fancy-pants science-rich public health journal for review and hopefully publication. Not bad for 2 days work, if I do say so myself.

But dear readers, these first 2 days of 2012 haven’t been all running, stretching, and writing. I’ve also spent my time relaxing with the wee Fuzzball, doing laundry, and wasting time surfing the interwebs. Interestingly enough, I stumbled on this particular post about business. I thought it was rather fitting given the doomsday prophecies and negative sentiment that I often hear about the current state of the world. You know the doomsday prophecies to which I refer: the end of the Mayan calendar – scheduled for later this year – thus clearly meaning the end of everything as we know it. Because of course the Mayans couldn’t be smart enough to have a repeating calendar like us. No. They only built pyramids and used a rather intricate calendar that followed celestial bodies. But to have a calendar that repeats – pure nonsense.

Oh those silly Mayans and their non-recycling calendar

I digress. Again. Clearly my brain is all over the place from writing papers. Regardless, I thought the following two quotes seemed apt:

“The thing is, we still live in a world that’s filled with opportunity. In fact, we have more than an opportunity — we have an obligation. An obligation to spend our time doing great things. To find ideas that matter and to share them. To push ourselves and the people around us to demonstrate gratitude, insight, and inspiration. To take risks and to make the world better by being amazing.”

“You get to make a choice. You can remake that choice every day, in fact. It’s never too late to choose optimism, to choose action, to choose excellence. The best thing is that it only takes a moment — just one second — to decide.”

These were pulled from the business post I mentioned above before I started rambling. And I think the message is clear. Despite the current state of the world (or the impending end of the world brought about by lack of Mayan foresight to recycle their calendars or at least leave us information to suggest that we should), how we live in it is our choosing. That is, we can opt to be pessimistic and miserable, we can choose to be angry or upset, wondering why we were dealt the lot that we were, or we can look at how we can improve the world around us. That doesn’t mean that we should necessarily do something grand. We should just do something – anything that makes the world around us a better place.

Personally, I’m going to try to keep these ideas in mind. And when I feel like things aren’t so awesome I’ll try to remember them and take a risk – even if that risk is smiling at a stranger and hopefully brightening our collective day.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

