How Does One Celebrate A Job-iversary?

Given the craziness of the holidays, I almost overlooked the fact that January 1 was not just the beginning of 2012, it was also the beginning of my second year as an Ass. Prof. I know, how could I forget such an occasion?

That’s right folks, I almost forgot that I’ve officially been gainfully employed at the University of Guelph, in the School of Computer Science for a full year. Three hundred and sixty-five days. And better yet, I’m still gainfully employed. Amazing, right?

Honestly though, I have to say that I am so lucky to have the job that I do. Despite the odd day where I grow tired of meetings, writing grant applications, or other administrative tasks, I love what I do. Seriously. I get to spend my days exploring statistical and mathematical theories, developing methods and models for ecological risk assessment, population modelling, and public health assessment, I get to learn new things on a pretty much constant basis, and I get to teach the next generation of students. How could I not love what I do?

Even better – someone pays me to do this Ass. Prof. job that I love so much. It really does make most of what I do seem less like a job. Every day seems to bring new challenges, and new exciting research questions. I get to meet new people on an almost constant basis. I’m surrounded by, and get to learn from and work with some of the most brilliant people around. All this and I get paid. Amazing.

I am one lucky S.O.B.

I look forward to see what this year brings. I hope it is as fulfilling as the one that has just passed. And I hope it’s as productive, if not more so. I think I’m starting off the year on the right foot. Two draft manuscripts have been passed on to one of my coauthors for review, two other papers require some edits for re-submission to journals for publication, I’ve got 5 or so other papers in various stages of production, and several more starting this semester. Beyond that, I’ll be teaching 2 courses this semester – a graduate level course, and a 2nd year course. I am probably going to apply for my P. Stat. designation. I get to help out (and hopefully present at) the upcoming Annual Meeting of the Statistical Society of Canada – which will be held at the University of Guelph this year. And my list of graduate student committees continues to grow, as does my list of students that have me as their co-advisor. Awesome. Finally, I get to work with an amazing couple of students this semester (seriously folks, these guys blow my mind and they want to work with me). I can’t wait.

Anyway, here’s to another year doing this job that I love so much.


12 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    What does it take to get one’s P. Stat. designation? Clearly, I have chosen the wrong field, as my professional designation only puts two letters after my name (C.E.) whereas yours puts five!

    Also, I’m assuming that that “P” stands for “professional,” but every time I see it after your name I will pretend that it stands for “pretty.”

    1. dangillis says:

      There are some forms to fill out, and then I have to provide evidence that I’m worthy of the designation (C.V., sample of papers, teaching dossier, etc.). Also, while the “P” does stand for professional, I will support the use of pretty instead.

  2. CONGRATS! Am so amazed and inspired by every aspect of your life! 🙂

Leave a Reply

