42 Bakers Dozens Of Avoided Goo

This evening I was reviewing my RunKeeper stats. In case you weren’t aware, RunKeeper is the iPhone app that I use to track my running progress/training. I also log any walking, hiking, or biking with the app. You probably shouldn’t find any of this surprising giving my love of all things number-y. And stat-y.

Anyway, to keep the story short I realized this evening that I’ve logged almost 6000km with the app. Crazy! In fact, I’m only about 236km shy of the 6 grand mark.

Of course this didn’t happen all at once. Most of the distance was covered between 2010 and now, despite the fact that I officially started using the app in December of 2008. I guess I wasn’t all that active in 2008 and 2009, apparently logging only 27 activities.

Half of a Starbucks donut, per day, since December 2008 is about the same as the 222 thousand Calories I've burned on RunKeeper.

In addition to the almost 6000km, I’ve also logged 222601 Calories (not including all of the yoga). That number blows my mind.

Being the nerd that I am, I wanted to know what 222 thousand Calories would translate into. Sadly (?), 222 thousand Calories is equivalent to only about 556 Starbucks donuts (each approximately 400 Calories).

Five hundred fifty-six donuts – about 42 baker’s dozens.

That’s less than half a donut per day since I’ve started using the app. For some reason it seems like it should be worth so much more.

For what it’s worth, I’m celebrating this revelation with a piece of Lindt sea salt and dark chocolate. And I don’t feel bad about it at all.

Also, I kind of want a Starbucks donut 🙂


Related articles

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

