The Day My Face Exploded With Awesome

January is just full of anniversaries.

First I had my Job-iversary; a day to celebrate the successful completion of one full year as an Ass. Prof.

This was followed by Dan and Rick‘s Trip-iversary, which celebrated the day 1 year ago when we boarded a plane and made our way to a most awesome adventure in Hawaii.

Then there was my blog-iversary; a celebration of blogging here at Consumed By Wanderlust for 1 full year.

And now today marks the 1 year anniversary of this:

Just call me Stitch-Face

That’s right folks. Today is the anniversary of the moment when I was innocently practicing my yoga, slipped, and braced the fall with my face. That particular mishap left me with a nasty laceration above my left eye. Surprisingly, there wasn’t nearly as much blood as one might have expected. And even better, very little in the way of pain.

Fortunately for me, Rick was smart enough to insist that we head to the hospital for stitches despite my assertion that crazy glue would work just fine.

You’d probably assume that this put a huge damper on our trip given that it happened right in the middle of it, but you’d be very wrong. We probably laughed way more than most people who have smashed their face on a hardwood floor. And to say that we were giant goofs at the hospital would be an understatement. So while it may have modified our original plans for the eve (which involved a bottle or two of wine, a telescope – yes we are nerds – and enjoying our last eve overlooking the ocean before flying to Oahu), we ended up having a pretty hilarious and fantastic night.

The result? Well, one year later everything has healed up pretty well. I still have people staring at the obvious Harry-Potter-Lightning-Bolt-Scar that remains (a few whom have asked whether I had done this on purpose). But mostly my lightning bolt scar has become a part of me. I’d say that I rarely notice it but that would be a lie. To be perfectly honest, I love my scar and I probably notice it on some level every day. And when I do I smile, because it reminds me of one of the craziest nights in my life, and it also reminds me of my most awesome Hawaiian adventure with Rick.


In honour of this festive occasion, I’ve relinked three videos of The Stitchening – also known as when I went to the Hilo Hospital with Rick and had my face sewn back together.

Video 1: I Shall Call You Stitch-Face: The Cleaning (starring RN Sara).

The cleaning was the weirdest feeling ever. Imagine having cold water shot into your forehead. Under the skin. What I felt was weirder than that.

Video 2: I Shall Call You Stitch-Face: The Exam (starring Dr. Coker).

This is probably the most disgusting of the videos. As such, it is my favourite one.

Video 3: I Shall Call You Stitch-Face: The Stitchening (starring Dr. Coker).

Note how the doctor describes the shape of the forthcoming scar. Sounds like a lightning bolt to me!


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    Hilarious! Can’t believe that was a year ago. I still think it’s a vast improvement ;). In fact, another smashing of your face may improve it even more!

  2. mjsturtevant says:

    Oh my god that’s amazing…. you look like Harry Potter! You lucky bastard!

    1. dangillis says:

      LOL. Thanks. Was just checking out your blog. Waking up to -25 is insane! But I love your sense of adventure. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.

  3. jamie says:

    Made me chuckle this morning! 🙂

    1. dangillis says:

      Good stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

