Embracing The Mileage Whore Within

I was reviewing my training schedule for the marathon and realized something. Er, maybe what I should write is that I rediscovered something. That something is the fact that I am a mileage whore.

What do I mean by that?

Only that I always seem to feel the need to put in longer distances when I run, despite what I had originally set up for my training schedule. For example, last weekend I was supposed to run a 12 km recovery run. I ended up with 19.25 km by the time things were said and done. Tuesday was supposed to include a 7 km run, and yet I felt the need to put in almost 12. Tonight I was supposed to run 9, but opted to run 10 (I stopped only because wings and beer were calling my name). If that doesn’t scream mileage whore, I don’t know what does.

Reviewing my monthly goal, I realized that I had originally planned to run only 93 km by this point in the month. Beyond that, I had only planned 113 km in total for January.

So where has my mileage whoring got me? Well, as of today I’ve completed slightly less than 110 km. That means I will surpass my January goal on Saturday with probably extra distance to spare given that I have a run planned for Monday as well. Put another way, there is a possibility that I will run the distance of 3 marathons in the month of January, and that is pretty wicked-awesome cool.

Anyway, if I were required to take any sort of whoring title, I think stats, math, or mileage whore would be at the top of my list. So I shall embrace the title and strive to crush this month’s goal. And just for fun, I think I’m going to crush next month’s as well. Because they’re clearly asking to be crushed.


7 Comments Add yours

    1. dangillis says:

      LOL. Why did I know you were going to write that?

      1. Rick says:

        Because I’m super predictable with my insults 🙂

        1. dangillis says:

          And you ugly. You mustn’t forget that. ZING!

          1. Rick says:

            ZING indeed!

Leave a Reply

