I Am A Spoiled Bastard

Mmm, tuna and avocado on a toasted english muffin - dinner of champions (or lazy cooks)

I am very spoiled. And lucky. Let me explain.

Yesterday, after another very long week I was treated to a most excellent dinner. While I myself rarely cook – unless one considers toasting an English muffin, cracking a can of tuna, slicing some avocado, and assembling said ingredients cooking – I do admire and respect those who do. You see, I wasn’t always the non-cooking person I am today. But after the hernia my diet has changed significantly, and, well, the rest is history.

I digress. Point is, I was spoiled last night with a fantastic meal, and great conversation.

20120204-222008.jpg
Dinner at Sushi Rock. YUM.

Today, I was spoiled further. I made my way to Toronto to visit some friends. Of course, this meant dinner out – sushi dinner to be exact. And it was delicious. Even as I write this I am still stuffed with raw fish based tasties. The eve also included the purchase of my February bottle of scotch (a Bowmore – but more on that in another post), followed by discussion about a new adventure that is brewing for July (more on that in another post as well). Clearly, a most awesome evening in Toronto.

But let me be clear. When I wrote that I am spoiled, I am not referring to the food or booze. While those are indeed fantastic, they pale in comparison when I think of the people who I am fortunate enough to get to spend my time with. People who challenge me (in the good kind of way), people who make me look at the world with new eyes, people who amaze me in ways that I can’t put into words.

So yes, while I am blessed to have a lot of stuff in my life, the largest blessing of all is how many amazing people I can share my life with, and who choose to share their lives with me.

Bottom line is – I am one lucky bastard.


9 Comments Add yours

  1. The best part of life is having family and friends who love you!

  2. A good meal, a good conversation… That’s good time!

  3. aqcentric says:

    Remember way back when I told you that I love it when your lies make me tingly? Turns out your truths make me tingly-er.

    1. dangillis says:

      I approve of this statement.

  4. Bernie says:

    You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

