I See Mountains

Being greeted with a Dr. Gillis sign is the best way to arrive at an airport.

Today was another early day. However, unlike the last however-many-days-it-has-been, getting up early today was for a reason other than work. Today was the day that I rekindled my once-per-month-travelling goal1, boarded a plane, and made my way to Calgary. W00t!

The flight was rather uneventful, save for the fact that we were without an in fight entertainment system. Oh cruel Fates, why have you cursed me with this terrible luck? In reality though, this wasn’t even close to being an inconvenience. And to be honest, after several rather intense days I was too tired to care. Also, I had my iPhone and my computer with me so I just watched my own movies and listened to my own music.

In an unexpected twist, AirCanada offered us vouchers for 5% off our next flight for the inconvenience of not being able to watch movies while we flew through the air. Personally, I found this rather strange because I’ve been on flights before where I was far more inconvenienced. You know – those flights where they board you on the plane, have you sit there for hours with nothing but a paltry glass of water, provide you with zero information, then ask you to get off the plane to reschedule you at a much later hour, significantly cutting into your vacation (and as such, your margarita drinking time)2.

Regardless, the voucher was a nice gesture and given that I’m going to be travelling again very soon, 5% off is 5% off.

But while I’m talking about AirCanada, I also wondered something today. It never fails that when I’m watching a movie on their inflight entertainment system that one of the flight attendants, or the captain, or the co-pilot, or whomever jumps on the PA to announce something about something that no one on the plane seems to care about. Honestly, I’ve watched and have never noticed anyone actively listening to any of these announcements.

The result is that the announcement just cuts into whatever movie the masses have been watching to forget the fact that they are flying thousands of feet above the ground at speeds we only dream of on the land – and the result is an almost audible gah, because it was just getting to the good part of the movie. And then there is a sigh of relief when the movie restarts, only to be followed by another gah because the announcement has to be repeated in French (as we are a bilingual country).

Jessica Fletcher - where she goes, the Grim Reaper follows.

Anyway, why am I pointing this out?  Well today, on a flight with absolutely no inflight entertainment options apart from twiddling thumbs, staring at the person’s head in front of you, or (if you were as lucky as me) watching Absolutely Fabulous on my computer, there were pretty much zero announcements. That’s right, apart from the initial safety announcements, and the final get-yer-butts-back-in-yer-seats-cuz-we-be-landing, there were none. Nada. Zero. Zilch.

It makes me wonder – was this is all just a coincidence, or is there more to it than that? Are the flight attendants just making announcements because it’s some sort of inflight joke? Or was it just that I wasn’t interrupted right at that moment when Jessica Fletcher reveals the identity of the killer in the big screen version of Murder She Wrote? Ya, that’s probably the case.

Flash forward a few hours and I’ve just awoken from a wee nap. Rick picked me up at the airport and then dropped me off at his place before returning to work (sucker). Prior to him heading back to the office, we did a quick catch-up. It was honestly so awesome to see him when I got off the plane, and I’m looking forward to the next 4 days of shenaniganning with him. We start the adventure tonight with dinner at a friend’s, and then drinks at The Coup.

Vacation is awesome.


1 You may have noticed that I put that goal on hiatus after 13 months of travel. I’d like to say I had a good reason to do that, but in reality that isn’t the case. And after 1 very long month of not travelling, I have made the decision that it is something that I need to do. For my health. And other such stuff.

2 Yes, I realize that these delays are almost always related to my safety – that is why I haven’t ever complained about them. Well, that’s not true. I’ve complained – to friends – but never to AirCanada (or whomever I happen to be flying). Sometimes a guy needs to vent you know.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ma-gnome says:

    Bring me leftovers from The Coup please 🙂 Have fun nerds!

Leave a Reply

