Epic Nap Fail

This looks strangely comfortable

So yesterday I mentioned my lack of sleep. Specifically I mentioned that I’d only had about 22 hours of sleep over the past however many days.

Last night didn’t improve the situation. I was up early again this morn (5am) to finish up the final preparation for a PhD Qualifying Exam today. And this after crawling into bed after midnight.

While the exam went very well, the lack of sleep caught up to me quickly. I spent the bulk of the day running on fumes and adrenaline. This is a combination that at times can be entertaining. However, when one is spending the day trying to think clearly – not so much.

As such, I decided I’d come home and grab a quick nap. Normally I don’t nap because it interrupts my regular sleeping patterns1. Regardless, I figured it was an absolute necessity given that I was supposed to be heading over to my friend’s place this eve for a birthday celebration, and I wanted to be sure to be closer to party than wallflower mode.

Sigh. Best intentions clearly pave the road to ridiculously long but very needed naps.

I set my alarm to wake me up after 30 minutes. That was 2.5 hours ago. I just woke up.

Anyway, on any other night I might just ignore the epic nap fail and snuggle on the couch with the Wee Fuzzball2. Not tonight however. It has been a long week, and I think I need to go and have some fun.

So with that, I’m off. Happy Friday all y’all.


1 Whereby interrupt means mimics too closely my regular sleeping pattern. I mean, let’s be real here, I normally only sleep about 5.5 hours a night. I’m pretty sure that’s just slightly longer than the textbook definition of a nap.

1 Yes, that is what my Fridays have come to.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

