What’s Another 67.1?

While in between meetings today I happened to check on my friend Carolyn’s blog, and realized that I had completely forgotten to register myself for an upcoming race.

Zounds!

The run that had slipped my mind? None other than the Run for Retina half marathon in London, Ontario. The run takes place April 15, and is intended to raise money and awareness for retinal health.

Specifically, the website states:

“Run for Retina is an event developed to raise funds for research at the Ivey Eye Institute in London Ontario. Thousands in our community and beyond suffer from genetic retina eye disorders such as Retinitis Pigmentosis, Best’s Disease, Usher Syndrome, Coat’s Disease, Age Related Macular Degeneration and Stargardt’s Disease, a juvenile form of Macular Degeneration.”

Given that I’ve been to the Ivey Eye Institute on numerous occasions, and given that my eyes are – shall we say slightly b0rked – I figured this would be a great way to support the research done there. Plus, I get to run a half marathon, and that’s a whole lot of alright. Further, since it is scheduled for the 15th of April, two weeks before the Chocolate Race 10 Miler (which I’ve already registered myself in), and three weeks before the first marathon of the year, it will act as a great training run.

Anyway, after I realized that I’d forgotten about the Run for Retina half marathon, it struck me that I’d also forgotten to hunt for a bib for the 30k Around the Bay in Hamilton (March 25). At this point, I’m not positive I’ll be running the Around the Bay as I’ve been slacking in the running department over the past few weeks. However, if I can manage to get off my butt and do some serious running over the next few days, I’m sure I’ll change my mind.

And when you think about it, that works out to an extra 3 races, and an extra 21.1+16+30=67.1km of running. How can I say no to that?


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Carolyn says:

    Around the Bay is still accepting bib transfers. I’m a bit worried about it myself, having slacked on the hills. If we both suck, our respective crappy runs will cancel each other out, leaving only net awesomeness. It’s like, a math thing…

    1. dangillis says:

      I like this math you speak of. I like it a lot. I’ll try to look into a bib today. You’ve got a bib already, right?

Leave a Reply

