Things I Saw While Running

Happy St. Patrick’s Day all y’all.

In honour of St. Patrick’s Day, I decided I would run 16 miles today. Why 16 miles? Well, because 16 is one less than 171, and 16 miles works out to be a little more than 25 kilometers2. Huh? Exactly. In case you weren’t following along3, 25 kilometres was the distance I needed to run today as part of my training for the Around the Bay 30k (next Sunday) and the rest of the runs I’ve planned between now and the end of May.

Okay. I lied. You’ve caught me. I didn’t do anything today in honour of St. Patrick’s Day. I did however jump on the treadmill this morning and put in a solid 25.75 kilometers4 run over the course of 2 hours 17 minutes and 50 seconds. And, from the vantage point of my treadmill I was able to watch posse after posse5 of St. Patrick’s Day revelers walk by decked out in green; green hats, green shamrocks, green kiss me I’m Irish shirts, and what are apparently the new standard in St. Patrick’s Day apparel – green short-shorts with green fish-net stockings6.

So, while my run wasn’t pre-planned to honour St. Patrick or his day, I can honestly say that I was entertained by the sights that passed before my eyes that were so very clearly planned for this reason. And when I’m running on the treadmill for over 2 hours, this sort of thing is exactly what helps me laugh off any sort of mid-run malaise, or thoughts of holy crap, how much longer do I have to do this? So to those revelers who kept me entertained, I say They’re after me Lucky Charms. I mean, thank you.

Of course, because I do want to pay good-ole St. Patrick his due, I will be raising a tasty pint of beer-y goodness later on this eve. And that, dear readers, will be the end to a most excellent St. Patrick’s Day.


1 Today’s date.

2 25.75 kilometres.

3 And really, how could you have been following along? I mean, this post clearly makes no sense.

4 While wearing my trusty green underwear. That’s Irish-like, right? Maybe I was honouring St. Patrick all along.

5 Is that what one calls a group of more than 5 students dressed head-to-toe in green as they migrate towards the liquor store?

6 Because nothing says I’m Irish quite like short-shorts and fish-net stockings.



3 Comments Add yours

  1. wartica says:

    That is awesome that you just decided to run sixteen miles – no easy feat, whatsoever:)) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks. I have been building up to it 🙂
      Next Sunday I run in the first race of the year – 30K. Looking forward to it – I think.

      Anyway, thanks for reading. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

