Eyes Wide Open

Squeeee!

You know, it’s really pathetic how much I forget.

Take today for example. After spending the day writing code to analyse a standard surplus production model within a Bayesian framework – and more specifically, C++ code that could be called from R1, and after teaching the basics of Bayesian analysis and the Metropolis Hastings algorithm2 to my Discrete Optimization grad class, and after meeting with my Undergraduate Research Assistant Extraordinaire3, I decided it was time to call it a day and head home.

During my walk home, I spent much of my time thinking about how I might improve the C++ code that I had written4, and debating whether or not the tightness that I was feeling in my hip flexors and shins should stop me from running5. I was also enjoying the sunshine on my face. My mind was clearly not prepared for what I was about to find on my arrival home.

More specifically, I was not prepared for what awaited me in my mailbox.

And what exactly was awaiting me?

Only a letter from Skydive Toronto verifying my purchase of my next skydiving adventure (June 8th). It took a second for the letterhead on the envelope to register, but the minute it did a giant grin spread across my face. A giant, giddy, stupid grin that could only mean I had remembered that adventure was calling.

You see, because Rick and I often book adventures the minute we think of them – because who wants to have time to think about consequences – and because life has a tendency of getting in the way of adventuring, I had completely forgotten that I had booked this. And yes, I do realize that I wrote a blog post about this on the 29th of March – but that’s the point: I forget everything!

Anyway, every time I see the envelope and its contents I smile. For this reason, they are now prominently displayed on my fridge – held in place by the magic of magnets – so that I can remind myself every morning that adventure awaits. I just have to pay attention for it.

A note to adventure: my eyes are wide open.


1 R is a standard program used by Statisticians. It’s like World of Warcraft, but without the social component, and the killing, and the guns, and, um…okay, it’s nothing like World of Warcraft. Regardless, it’s an awesome little program and I love it.

2 Which can be used to analyze Bayesian models.

3 Justin – whom I still need to get a cape.

4 As it was sadly riddled with errors – I’m not the best of C++ programmers.

The answer was a very clear no, with perhaps a pffffft, as if added for special effect.


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    That is SO much better than what’s attached to my fridge with the power of magnets: a reminder to renew my car insurance!

    I need to plan som adventures posthaste!

    1. dangillis says:

      Agreed. Posthaste!

Leave a Reply

