Adventures With The Warrior Princess

Solace (Sarah McLachlan album)

While I was in Toronto on Saturday picking up my race kit for the Yonge Street 10k, I stumbled on some rather exciting information. Specifically, I stumbled on the fact that Sarah McLachlan was coming to town. More specifically, I learned that she was coming to town Friday, June 22, and that she would be joined by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra.

I’ll give you a minute to let that sink in.

Sarah McLachlan and the TSO?

Note the first: I am a huge fan of Sarah McLachlan, and have been since around the time she released Solace. This means that despite the fact that I’ve already seen Sarah a few times, seeing her again was a no-brainer.

Note the second: While I might not be the most versed in classical music, I love the symphony. It’s more than just listening to the music. It’s experiencing it. I’m not quite sure how to describe it, other than to say that I know what I love, and I love it.

Given these notes, you’ll not be surprised to know that I might have squeeed a little on learning that Sarah was not only coming to Toronto, but that she would be joined by the TSO. My first thought was not whether I was going, or how I might get there, but who was going to join me. The answer was very clearly my friend The Warrior Princess (commonly known as Aqleema, although there is nothing common about her), who had joined me on my last outing to see Sarah.

After verifying that tickets were available, I sent Aqleema a text message that went something like this:

Me: Sarah McLachlan June 22. Molson Amphitheatre. You in?
Me: The only answer is yes.

While awaiting Aqleema’s response, I was already in the process of buying tickets. I was serious when I wrote The only answer is yes. Of course Aqleema was on board without question.

Anyway, I’m freaking stoked! So much so that I had to ask the almighty and all-powerful Google to find me some videos of Sarah doing what she does best. I also challenged the Google to find me videos of Sarah doing what she does best while accompanied by an orchestra doing what it does best. The Google did not disappoint. And since the Google did not disappoint I can offer to you, dear readers, the following videos.

You are welcome.





2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

