Say What Now?

I just got home a few minutes ago.

Yes, I realize that it’s after 11pm, and yes I realize that I’m just getting home after having left the house for a 9am meeting earlier today. But please, please, please, please, don’t think that I’m seeking some sort of oh-my-gawd-that’s-a-crazy-long-day sort of sympathy. Yes, clearly those hours would represent a crazy-long-day if I had worked that entire time. However, dear readers, I can not honestly say that all of those hours were devoted to work. To the contrary, part of my day included getting my hair cut1, and then joining some of my colleagues for Pub Night3.

I digress. How I spent the hours of my day wasn’t really intended as the driving force behind this post. That honour falls to an envelope that I received in the mail today. The sender – Revenue Canada. Eep.

Now, don’t read this wrong. I pay my taxes on time. I make sure to keep track of all of my expenses and deductibles. I mean – I’m a statistician. Number crunching and spreadsheets are sort of my thing. So unlike most people – I actually enjoy the process of doing my taxes. I’m not always happy with the outcome, but the process is somehow satisfying to me.

Feel free to roll your eyes or label me as a freak now. It’s okay. I know that what I just wrote is not the norm. Regardless, I’m a nerd and I embrace all aspects of my nerdiness, including the fact that I enjoy doing my taxes.

Hopefully you’ve found a way to move past my previous few lines to get to the meat of this particular post. As I mentioned, I received some correspondence from Revenue Canada. Of course, my first thought was holy eff, I’ve screwed something up and I’m being audited or worse I owe oodles and oodles to Revenue Canada because I forgot to carry the 1. 

Dramatic? Perhaps. Realistic? Likely.

Anyway, I opened the letter and immediately jumped to the bottom line. The line that read $929.31. Eep.

My mind raced. I owe $929.31. How is this possible? I mean – I haven’t even filed my taxes for 2011 yet. What is going on?

Monies: I want more of these. Not a lot. Just enough to pay off my student debts. Okay - I guess that's a lot. Whatever.

Anyway, I took a breath and started the letter from the top. It read “Notice of (Re)Assessment“. My heart raced just a little bit. What had I screwed up? And when did I screw it up? The next line gave me the answer. “Reporting Period Ending: December 31, 2006”.

What the what? 2006?

So, I owed almost $1000 from 2006? Are you kidding me? As my head was about to explode, my eyes scanned over a particular part of the document.

“We are sending you a cheque for $929.31 separately.” Huh?

It was at this point that I took a step back, took a few deep breaths, and read the letter in the way it was intended to be read: top to bottom, left to right.

Despite what my eyes were reading, my mind did not want to believe it. Revenue Canada had reassessed my taxes from 2006 and decided that they owed me money. Let me repeat – the reassessment means money in my pocket. Money to the tune of almost one thousand dollars. Eep!

To be honest – and I’m not sure if my reaction makes sense or not – I feel as if they’ve made a mistake. I’m thinking I should call them tomorrow to verify what I’m reading just to make sure I’m not reading it wrong – although I don’t know how I could be reading it wrong. But still, I can’t believe what I’m reading.

If this turns out to be true – holy crapshark and amaze-balls covered in awesome-sauce – because I have a loan that would love to play with this potential new-found wealth.

Anyway, cross your fingers that this is for real and not just one big misunderstanding.


1 Because any Ass. Prof. worth his weight in gold knows that he must do his best to be aesthetically pleasing2.

2 Oh, that’s just me that thinks that?

3 Which happens almost every Thursday. W00t!


9 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    That’s awesome! Don’t call them- cash it! Cash it now!

    1. dangillis says:

      Wise words Rick. Wise words. However, the cheque hasn’t arrived yet. That will be sent ‘separately’. Probably with a bill that is 10% larger.

      Is it weird that I’m suspicious?

      1. Rick says:

        I was suspicious when HM Revenue & Customs from the UK sent me a similar cheque this year based on taxes I paid in 2006… but it was legit! Hopefully this one is too 🙂

        1. dangillis says:

          Your’s was also from 2006? That’s very weird.

          1. Beth says:

            You guys are tax twins!

            Also, you do realize that this means Stephen Harper has had your money since 2006, when it should have been in your pocket? (Or, more likely, in the pocket of the airline you would have given it to to go on a fabulous trip!). I shudder to think what he has been doing with it. Probably buying kittens for his dinner.

            1. dangillis says:

              Totally buying kittens for his dinner.

  2. Beth says:

    I also love to do my taxes. I’m *especially* excited to do my 2012 taxes because it will contain my last ever student loan interest deduction (hooray for being done my student loans!) AND a giant deduction for tuition and education credits. Squeee!

    1. dangillis says:

      Squee indeed. Squee long time and repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

