Improve My Peepers

My old glasses. And my old hairdo.

Shortly before Dr. Stephanie and I celebrated the completion of our formal education with our kick-ass blow-out Ph.D. Prom1, I purchased a new set of glasses and sunglasses. The reason for the purchase – my old glasses – shown left – fell apart, quite literally2.

Anyway, given our kick-ass blow-out Ph.D. Prom was fast approaching, I called up my parental units and asked if they could purchase some new and sexy-time glasses for me. Fine, I never mentioned anything about sexy-time glasses to my parents, but that’s not really the point now, is it?

Fortunately my parents are awesome and somehow realized that their nerdy son needed all the help he could get when it came to looking cool, so in a flash I had a pair of frames ordered, as well as a pair of schwanky sunglasses.

Fast forward a few years, glossing over the many times I have dropped, sat on, lost, or otherwise abused my glasses, and you won’t be surprised to know that it’s high time I ordered some replacements.

What precipitated this about-to-happen spending spree? Well, my sunglasses have been dropped, sat on, lost, or otherwise abused one too many times. The lenses have been popping out during runs, and in my attempt to pop them back in on their most recent high dive from my face to the ground, I broke one. Not completely. I mean, they are still rather functional. However, replacing them makes sense because

  1. My current reading glasses, and less surfer-dude hairdo

    having to stop during a race to fix them is getting annoying,

  2. having to search the ground when they pop out is also annoying,
  3. being that guy who screams “STOP” because someone is about to step on my lenses is getting old, and
  4. I’m afraid my lenses are going to burst into my face and somehow scratch out my eyes.

Okay, I’m not really afraid of item 4. Maybe item 4 should just read – I want new glasses.

So on my way home from the office today I stopped off at the store-o-eyewear and started peeping at potential new peeper-protectors (read sunglasses). After several minutes reviewing what was available I realized that I still love my frames. Moral of the story – I’m simply replacing the broken lens and hopefully the store can fix the frames. If not – then new frames will be ordered.

My current sunglasses.

Of course the story doesn’t end there. Once I started perusing the peeper-protectors, I started noticing the peeper-improvers (read reading glasses). And given that the store-o-eyewear was having a sale, I have made the executive decision that I’m going to purchase an extra pair of regular everyday glasses. Because why have 1 pair of awesome reading glasses when you can have 2 pairs of awesome reading glasses? Amiright?

But picking a new pair of peeper-improvers can be difficult. That’s where you, my dear readers, come into the picture. I have scientifically narrowed down my selection of new glasses to a set of 5. I’m wondering what your opinions are. And so, without further ado I offer you the first ever Pick Dan’s New Peeper-Improvers Poll. All you have to do is answer the following question:

Which of the 5 pairs of glasses presented below do you feel best represents sexy nerd?

However, if none of these glasses work for you, I also want to know that. Please leave any and all comments below. I’ll leave the poll open until I go to pick up my sunglasses some time next week. (Note: I apparently took more pictures of peeper-improver 1 for some weird reason.)


1 Which was almost 2 years ago.

2 Being nerdy3, I duct-taped them together. Sexy!

3 And poor.



15 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    I see 7 photos and 5 choices, and I don’t see the captions for each choice :S Are they in order? Is peeper-improver 1 the first three photos?

    1. dangillis says:

      Gah. They are supposed to be labelled. Not sure what’s going on. Let me see if I can fix it.

  2. Rick says:

    How is one supposed to choose when you look so ugly in every photo? It’s really quite distracting.

    1. dangillis says:

      Well played sir. Well played 🙂

  3. Stephanie says:

    OHHH you should have gone into Toronto to my friend Dennis’s store (http://www.eyestudio.ca/) I just got some new glasses and sunglasses from there….AMAZING! Denny has a gift for picking out the right fit and the perfect amount of nerdy! Definitely try it next time…you will never shop elsewhere again!

    I am casting my vote…but can’t promise that I will only vote once!!!!

  4. Dennis says:

    Of that bunch, #5. You ever try metal frames, maybe a light gold colour?

    If experience counts, I did a warmup today before voting. My daughter took me frame shopping for her mere hours ago.

  5. rawrfee says:

    Easy choice… definitely #1 🙂

  6. Serene says:

    I thought the #1 pair looked a bit big. Maybe I like #4 – hard to tell in these pics though. Best to bring a friend along to the store.
    Good luck!!

    1. dangillis says:

      Thanks Serene. I thought the same of #1, but then they grew on me in a very nerdy way. LOL.

  7. rjleblanc says:

    Weird!! I live right beside the eyeglasses store mentioned above… Although I voted for ‘none of the above’, #1 is a close second…

    1. dangillis says:

      Why “none of the above”? Frame style wrong? Too big? Too small (ha!)? MORE DETAILS PLEEEEEEEASE.

      Also, you should come out and yell encouraging words at me on Sunday when I’m running the marathon.

  8. Melanie Epp says:

    I prefer the ones you have now. Technically, a pair of glasses is the right fit if your eyes are in the exact centre of the frame. Pair #1 is definitely too big. Pair # 3 looks just right. The other pairs look kinda big too. I agree with whoever said take a friend – or several. It’s hard choosing new glasses.

  9. you are getting old obvioulsy, lol

Leave a Reply

