Running With My Tweeps

Okay, I know I write about running a lot, and at some point I’ll return to my other nerdier pursuits1, but I needed to write this particular post for several reasons.

Reason the first: I wanted a place to keep all of the messages that I received during the Toronto Goodlife Marathon on Sunday (posted below). For those not in the know, I set the accessibility options on my trusty iPhone so that it would read aloud any text message or tweet that I received while I was running. Then, I put this information out into the ether and let my Twitter friends do the rest2.

Reason the second: Many of the tweets that I received were absolutely hilarious. It was fantastic to have these short messages read to me while I ran. They were uplifting and just what I needed at all the right times. As such, I wanted to share them with you, dear readers, so that you might also understand my rather unique marathon experience.

Reason the third: I wanted to say thank you again to everyone who took the time to follow the race, and to send me the messages of support. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I am a lucky bastard that I get to have so many crazy-awesome people in my life. So to all of you who watched, texted, tweeted, or called, thank you for being incredible, thank you for your tweets and texts, thank you for your virtual and IRL3 high-fives. Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you.

Thank you.


1 You know – talking about math and stats, or math and stats related things, or scotch, or pie, or pi.

2 And boy did they deliver :)

3 IRL = In Real Life.



5 thoughts on “Running With My Tweeps”

Leave a Reply

