Hey Mama

on

In the event that you’ve somehow forgotten, today is Mother’s Day. For those of you that have forgotten and have a mom that should be called, I suggest that you get on the horn and wish her a Happy Mother’s Day. You’ve got a few minutes left before you’re in the ‘bad’ or ‘neglectful child’ territory.

Go ahead. I’ll wait.

As for me, I just got home from my parents place. Clearly the point of the eve was to celebrate my mom (and of course, my sister-in-laws who are both mom to three). The eve was, as always, a lot of fun1. Furthermore, I am stuffed to the gills and am suffering a mad case of food sketch as a result. Because of said food sketch, this post is going to be a quick one as I’m having a difficult time maintaining consciousness, and clearly need to go to bed2.

Given that it is Mother’s Day, I wanted to take a short moment to say thank you to my mom for everything that she has ever done for me. I could try to list everything, but that would clearly be futile. The list of things that I know she has done for me would go on forever. The list of things that I don’t know would be longer.

So thank you mom for everything. Thank you for getting up early with me. Thank you for taking care of me when I was sick. Thank you for helping to quiz me when I was studying for math or english or history when I was in elementary school. Thank you for worrying – then, now, and more than likely in the future. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. I can’t really say it enough.

Mostly, thank you for the love. It has been a staple in my life, and it has been a major source of my strength. Without it, I’m pretty sure that my life would have been very different. With it, I know I can do anything. I am the man I am today because of you.

Also, thanks for the date squares (past, present, and future – hint hint). I love those things. 😉


1 It probably didn’t hurt that my dad and I decided to sample some scotch.

2 Which is something my mom would encourage, so given that today is all about my mom, I’m going to use that as an excuse to be selfish and go to bed early.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

