Dust Off Those Shoes

on
This could be you. DO IT.

It was brought to my attention recently that Wednesday June 6, 2012 is National Running Day (NRD). Although similar, NRD should not be confused with World Run Day which occurs November 11, 2012.

What is NRD? Well, according to some rather intensive research1,

National Running Day, held annually on the first Wednesday in June, is a day when runners everywhere declare their passion for running. Wherever we are and whomever we’re with, we run—fast or slow, alone or with others, all over town or just around the block. It is a coast-to-coast celebration of a sport and activity that’s simple, inexpensive, and fun. It’s the perfect way for longtime runners to reaffirm their love of running and for beginners to kick off a lifetime and life-changing commitment.

Of course, the National component of NRD seems to refer to the USA. But why should we let a pesky little thing like a border get in our way of also enjoying the benefits that running brings? Clearly we shouldn’t.

So with that, I’ve decided that on Wednesday I’m going to reaffirm my love of running by going out for – you guessed it – a run. At this point I’m thinking a 10km run should adequately inform the world that I love running. And if that doesn’t work, perhaps I should carry a sign that directs people to this particular blog, since I seem to write a lot about it.


1 Where rather intensive research means I Googled it, found the official NRD website, and very carefully copy-pasted my findings here. You’re right, it was exhausting.


7 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    I may or may not go for a run on that day. I’m undecided. I mean, I DID just finish a 10k and a 5k race on the weekend. NBD. No big deal.

    1. dangillis says:

      DO IT! All the cool kids are doing it. And you definitely want to be cool.

  2. Beth says:

    Wednesdays has become my regular running day – I have a teleconference with my project group every Wednesday, during which I put on my running clothes and do my warm up stretching and then I hit the street as soon as the tcon ends. I think for this Wednesday’s run – in honour of NRD (which bears a striking resemblance to the word “nerd”, might I add) – I’ll try a new and exciting route for my run!

    1. dangillis says:

      I love that NRD has a striking resemblance to the word nerd. Also, I like that you use a teleconference to prep for running. Very two-birds-with-one-stone of you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

