A Mad Case Of Withdrawal

An epic beer to celebrate an epic day.
I’m suffering from epic-withdrawal too.

Let’s recap.

In the past 10 days I’ve gone zip-lining, I’ve spent the better part of a week getting my nerd-on, I’ve gone kangoo-ing, I’ve gone skydiving, and I’ve run my 7th official race of the year. I also got to spend a lot of time with friends (old and new), and continue my adventure-questing with Rick. The 10 days were clearly packed with awesome.

To say that I’m sad they are over would be an understatement.

To put it another more accurate way, I woke up this morning in a state of adventure-withdrawal. It’s similar to the feeling that you may have had after Christmas morning as a child. The build up is intense, there is a mad frenzy of gift unwrapping – paper and tape flying through the air – and then you reach the last gift and realize that there are no more. The frenzied gift-reveal is over. Nothing is left save for the carcasses of boxes once wrapped in shiny paper and a bow. You sit there wishing you had taken the time to savour each and every one of the moments that passed before you just a little bit more; wishing that you could go back and live in those moments forever. Sadly, you realize that you can’t. The moments are over and all that you are left with are the crazed memories of gift-carnage.

Fortunately, my memories of the past 10 days are far better than crazed memories of gift-carnage. And how can they not be? My week was filled with so many smiles, so much laughter, and a ridiculous amount of fun. So while I might not remember every detail of every conversation, the things that I do remember are enough to make me smile today (and in the future). And it will be those memories that get me through this silly little adventure-withdrawal thing I’m going through today.

That, and plotting new adventures. ;)

W00t!

One thought on “A Mad Case Of Withdrawal”

Leave a Reply

