I’m Considering Something Stupid

21.1 plus 42.2 equals awesome-sauce

Or Goofy. Either way, I’m sure it’s a bad idea. Or the most amazing idea in the history of ideas.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

A while back – perhaps some time last year – I was introduced to the Goofy Race at Disney World in Florida by my friend Carolyn. The idea – run a half marathon through Disney World on Saturday, and just for fun, run a full marathon through Disney World the very next day. That’s 63.3 kilometres of running in 2 days.

If one completes the half marathon only, they receive a shiny Donald Duck Half Marathon medal.

If one completes the full marathon only1, they receive a shiny Mickey Mouse Full Marathon medal.

But, if one completes both the half marathon and the full marathon2 they receive an additional shiny medal that is known as the Goofy medal. Because running a marathon and a half over the course of two days is Goofy. Or stupid. Or awesome. Or all of these things. And clearly it deserves an extra medal.

And really, who wants one shiny race medal when they can have three?

So this is where you might think me a little stupid – because I really think that I need to have these medals. Not want. Need3.

The Donald Duck Half, Mickey Mouse Full, Goofy Marathon and a Half, and Relay medals for 2012.

Of course, I’m all over the place with this potential challenge. On one hand, hells ya I’m going to do it. On the other hand I think holy crapshite, that’s a lot of running, and how will my body handle a marathon the next day after a half marathon, and holy crapshite, that’s a lot of running. Of course, when I question whether or not I’m capable of doing it I immediately think screw you self, of course I can. I also think there’s only one way to really know. 

And so here I am writing about a challenge that is probably on the extra stupid side of stupid, and yet like some weird siren song it’s drawing me in. That is, dear readers, I would suggest that this particular challenge is going to happen. At least, I’m 85% sure that I’m going to do it. And if all goes well, I’ll be crossing the line twice in Disney World this coming January. Because why run a half marathon when I can run a full marathon? And why run a full marathon when I can run a marathon and a half?

Of course, I’m going to have to kick up my training ever so slightly. I’m also going to have to figure out how to schedule this particular race given that I will be teaching in the Winter semester. If all goes well, I’ll be able to fly down on Friday morning, run Saturday and Sunday, then fly home Monday eve so that I’m ready for teaching on Tuesday.

Hmmm, I’m already considering my training program and planning a trip around my work schedule. I should probably upgrade this challenge from 85% sure I’m going to do it, to 90% sure I’m going to do it.

Hmmm number 2. I just realized that my Not-So-Bucket-List list already has this listed as a thing I want to do (item #270, which strangely I don’t remember adding). I guess I need to update my confidence level in running this race again – from 90% sure I’m going to do it, to this is so going to be done.

I love being stupid.


1 Only. Ha!

2 With a pace that is less than 16 minutes per mile.

3 Okay, it’s not a need at all, but the want is so strong that I think it’s a borderline need.


9 Comments Add yours

  1. Gillian says:

    Is this not also the marathon where most do it in costume? Or is that another one? 😛

    1. dangillis says:

      I think some people probably do it in costume. But you might also be thinking of the Disney Princess Half Marathon.

  2. Rick says:

    Awesome! I’m happy that you’ve decided to take on this challenge. I have no doubt that you’ll destroy these races, get your medals, and cross this one off your list. I also firmly believe that you’re equally suited for the Princess Half Marathon. Ha!

Leave a Reply

