Twice As Deadly, Not Nearly As Furry

I probably looked like this guy this weekend, except increase the gluttony by a factor of 5000. Also, I’m not nearly as furry.

I am a giant ball of sloth deep fried in boiling liquid gluttony. That’s right folks, twice the deadly sins for the price of one. I’m what you’d call a bargain1.

At least, that’s how I feel after today’s meal. Seriously, I should have worn my eating-pants, or perhaps clothed myself in the finest dining-tarp money could buy.

Why so full? you ask.

Well, being Father’s Day I headed off to my parents’ place with my younger brother to celebrate all things fatherly. This of course meant eating. And lots of it. Beyond the delicious spread that the fathers in the room prepared2, I also was tempted – and ultimately succumbed to – homemade strawberry rhubarb pie that my mom had made for the occasion.

So. Freaking. Tasty.

Marathon number 3 for 2012? Don’t mind if I do.

Looking back to the old-time-y days that were last week, I realize that I had started this weekend with so many good intentions. First and foremost, I wanted to get in a long run. Second, and just as important, I wanted to get in a long bike. Sadly I accomplished neither. In fact, if there are things that could be considered the opposite of a long run or a long bike, I did those things. Add in the gluttony that came with today’s meal, and I’m feeling like a large bag of gelatinous goo. And a lazy one at that.

Fortunately, I’m going to fix this first thing tomorrow. And how am I going to do that? Well, I’m going to bike to school for one thing – but that’s not really anything new. I’m definitely going to run in the eve – but this too is not really anything new. What’s going to fix this feeling is the fact that I officially need to start training for my next 30km race and my next marathon. Because, I may or may not have just signed up for the Toronto Waterfront Marathon4, and I may or may not be signing up for a 30km race in August5.

Take that deadly sins.

And oh yeah – Happy Father’s Day all y’all. Of course, by all y’all I don’t actually mean all y’all of you. Just the fathers, fathers-to-be, and the fatherly types out there. Happy Father’s Day to you.


1 You should probably write that down.

2 The fathers – being my dad, and my brother Bernie – actually prepared and cooked the meal, because apparently that is how one celebrates Father’s Day. Or in this case, Fathers’ Day.

3 Apparently it is also now the tradition that should the dinner guests enjoy their meal, the chef gets tossed into the pool. My nieces thoroughly love this tradition, and took great pleasure pushing my dad in.

4 Hells ya I did.

5 Hells ya I will.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

