Bing! Email!

I’m not sure I had the energy to stand up this straight this morning.

I woke up today feeling exhausted. Again.

I’m not sure what’s going on. My sleeping patterns haven’t changed – save for the fact that I seem to be waking up about an hour earlier than normal. And when I write an hour earlier than normal, I don’t mean that I’m purposely getting up at this time. What I mean is that I’m waking up before the time when my alarm is set to wake me. And when I wake up, I wake up exhausted. Fortunately I’m awake enough to recognize that I’m exhausted, so I’ve just rolled back over and promptly fallen back to sleep. But clearly it’s a craptacular sleep because when I finally wake I’m completely knackered.

For now, I’m going to blame it on the heat as I have not yet turned on my air conditioner. That, or Elliot has been purposely poking me to wake me up as some sort of bizarre feline joke. Note to self: keep your eyes on the cat – he knows too much.

Sadly, I didn’t just wake up exhausted today. By the time I got to the office, and while I was meeting with one of my grad students, it struck me – I was cranky too.

Excellent, I’m tired and a charming bag full of crank, I thought to myself. This is not going to be a good day.

I don’t think I necessarily woke up cranky, but it wasn’t long before my computer started chiming. Bing! Email! Bing! Email! With every Bing! Email! I cringed just a little. Mainly because I was tired and really wasn’t ready to start my day. Nor was I ready to read about this or that that I needed to do. All I wanted was just one more hour of sleep.

Bing! Email!

Yup. This about sums up my morning.

I tried to shrug off each and every Bing! Email!, going about my usual morning. I should have known I wasn’t doing a good job of shrugging it off. Regardless, I hopped on my bike and headed to the office. I had hoped that the bike ride would get me out of my funk. Not so much. It only took one more Bing! Email! to put me over the edge. I was full on Cranky-pants McGee. In this case, it wasn’t so much the Bing! Email! that did it; it was the content of the final mood-killing Bing! Email! I’m not going to get into the content of the email, but suffice it to say someone else’s lack of preparation was suddenly somehow my problem.

I have to give my grad student Kat tons of credit. She sat there patiently and put up with my crank. She smiled and let me have myself a little pity party. At some point during the meeting I think I acknowledged that I was a giant bag of crank, we laughed, called it a meeting, and headed to Starbucks based on her suggestion that she needed a coffee. On the way there, I told her I need to shake off this funk that I’m in. That may or may not have been followed with a w00t, three solid motivational claps, and a Go Statistics! cheer (seriously). She took it all in, allowing me to be the dork that I needed to be. Best grad student ever!

This was clearly the beginning of the end of my funk. The proverbial nail in the coffin for my funk came when I met up with my friend Rob (@therobcampbell). Chatting with him was exactly what I needed. It wasn’t so much anything that he said – it was just sitting with someone who has the type of energy and spirit that I like to surround myself with. He was just the reminder that I needed that I was choosing to be cranky. I didn’t have to respond to the Bing! Email! the way that I was. I didn’t have to let someone else’s lack of preparation get to me. I had, but it wasn’t the only way I could have responded to these things. And since I allowed this to happen, I could just as easily not allow it to happen.

I left my meeting with Rob feeling completely refreshed, ready to take on the day, and no longer Cranky-pants McGee.

When I got home, I continued my mission to not be cranky. First, I had a sweet 30 minute nap with the wee fuzzball. Second, I went for a great run, then followed that up with about an hour of yoga and stretching. And finally, to close out my day, I’m going to eat a dairy free pecan butter tart. It’s basically impossible to be cranky when one has a dairy free pecan butter tart to eat. That’s a rule – you should write it down.

And this is pretty much how my morning ended. Except it wasn’t peanut butter crackers and a comic book that did it. It was a friend with one of the greatest smiles going.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    That may or may not have been followed with a w00t, three solid motivational claps, and a Go Statistics! cheer

    I can totally picture you doing this!

    It reminds of this one time back in grad school when I was learning a new technique in another lab in the Anatomy department. The PhD student from that lab (who was teaching me said technique) had a little routine that he did with the Masters student. As we were all working away in the lab, out of the blue Julian would go: “Hey Kuljeet, what are we doing?” To which Kuljeet would reply loudly “We’re doing Science!” and then they’d both say, “Science is goooooood!” To this day, I think of that routine whenever I’m in a lab. And then I laugh to myself.

    Science is gooooooooooooooood! Go Science!

    1. dangillis says:

      Science IS good. W00t!

Leave a Reply

