Blah, Blah, Blah, Statistics

Almost zero meetings? Unheard of!

Hold onto your hats folks, for what I’m about to tell you might blow your mind into a million pieces. Today my calendar informed me that I had only one meeting1. And it was scheduled for only an hour.

Hallelujah.

As with most people, I think I can say that my productivity is inversely proportional to the number of meetings I have. This means that today was a day of high productivity. Honestly, I’m glad. I needed a day like today to remind myself that there are so many research questions that I want/need to explore2. Sometimes those questions sit on the back burner for so long, I tend to forget that they exist. It’s nice to have some time to shine a light on them every now and then. You know – remind myself that they are important, and that it’s not always about meetings.

The other bonus of not sitting in meeting, after meeting, after meeting, after meeting3, is that I can focus on one topic for an extended period of time. And that’s a good thing because it allows me to get my statistical juices flowing.

Today was no exception. I ploughed through a bunch of work. My mind was clear, and fresh, and definitely open to new ideas. So, for example, while I was writing code to analyze some data, my mind was also considering how I might update some of the state-of-the-science population models used to estimate the abundance of a species. I was also exploring in my mind the structure of a statistical model known as a Zero Inflated Poisson, wondering how I might update it for a specific setting where the zeroes…

Oh, right. Blah, blah, blah, statistics.

Sorry – I won’t bore you any more with the details. I realize that I’m excited about this stuff but that isn’t the case for everyone. Suffice it to say, today I had my nerd on and it felt great. Because today was a day that reminded me again why it is that I love what I do so much. And it also reminded me that I am one lucky bastard because I get to do what I love to do, and I realize that not everyone is that fortunate.

And with that, dear readers, I will say good-bye as I have to get back to work. You see, I have to prep for a 10am meeting. Yee-haw.


1 One meeting! W00t!

2 The nerd in me would argue that this is more of a need than a want.

3 After meeting.


3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

