Let The Reconstruction Begin

The day after my house drown.

Today marks day 3 in my home away from home – not that I’m counting or anything.

When I awoke this morning I opted to lounge in bed instead of getting up and doing anything productive. Normally this would be the time on a Saturday when I’d get up, head to the market, do laundry, clean up the house, perhaps finish up any remaining dishes that might have piled up over the week. Being in the hotel I could do none of these things except possibly head to the market. I chose not to do that as I really don’t have a place to store or prepare the goods that I would normally buy. And so I stayed in bed a little longer.

While lounging my mind began to wander. I soon found it fixated on what to do with my condo. The reconstruction is underway and many different ideas have been floating through my mind. That is, ideas about how the reconstruction should go. Should I just have the insurance company rebuild what was there, no different from before? Or should I instead have them change it up by selecting new colours, and by perhaps adding hardwood floor in place of the damaged carpet? Or should I go more extreme and make the condo completely open concept?

Elliot seems to be taking the reconstruction in stride.

In a strange way I find any conversation about the rebuild to be a bit more taxing than most. It’s not that I can’t talk about it. I can. Endlessly. But that’s the rub. I have so many ideas that I’m not sure where to begin.

To remedy this situation I’ve taken to drafting various plans in order to figure out what my options are. Each option will obviously be considered by comparing both cost and time metrics. I’m hoping that this will allow me to select the option that is best for me.

At this point I’ve made several decisions. I have decided that I am going to

  • replace the living room carpet with laminate flooring,
  • have the kitchen cabinets repainted a different colour than what they currently are (colour undecided),
  • have the kitchen painted (colour undecided), making sure to remove the god-awful border that currently “decorates” the walls,
  • add a backsplash to the kitchen,
  • get a new kitchen countertop,
  • replace the kitchen sink,
  • replace the main floor bathroom sink,
  • replace the main floor bathroom mirror,
  • add shelving to the main floor storage room,
  • update some of the furniture in the living room,
  • print new photos to be framed and hung on the wall,
  • add a mirror to the entrance way,
  • purge any and all bric-a-brac that I don’t need, and
  • update my speaker system.
My condo, now with walls! W00t!

I am also considering whether or not to replace the fridge, stove, dishwasher, and microwave, as well as install a low flow water saving toilet on the main floor. There’s also the idea of getting a grown up couch – probably an L-shaped couch with chaise lounge attached, and installing a fireplace. These are all pricier options, and my guess is that some of these upgrades will have to wait. However, I want to make sure that I have a full idea of the final picture so that I might plan accordingly.

Anyway, I’m still toying with various ideas. On one hand I find this entertaining and fun, on the other hand it freaks me out.

Fortunately I have a few more days to mull over ideas and make my list even more concrete. 

Wish me luck!


11 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Definitely get a fireplace. Fireplaces are the bomb.

    1. dangillis says:

      Your logic is sound and clearly based in scientific science – the best and most scientific of all the sciences. I’ll add it to the list.

      1. Beth says:

        As a scientific scientician who does science, I concur with your conclusion that my logic is based in scientific science. I also happen to have a fireplace, so this is the evidence-based evidence on which I based my scientific science.

        1. dangillis says:

          Brilliant! Grants all around.

            1. dangillis says:

              Honestly, if all science were done like this, we’d be eleventy-billionaires twice over.

Leave a Reply

