Home Made Deliciousness

Scotchy, scotchy, scotch. I love scotch.

After a rather lazy start to the day which included lounging in bed and doing pretty much nothing all morning, I headed over to the house to visit the wee fuzzball. He’s doing well in case you were curious. We hung out in my room for a bit, him softly purring next to me as I scratched behind his ears.

It was pretty much a perfect way to start my Sunday.

Afterwards I met up with my brother and the newest addition to his family – a 3 month old black german shepherd puppy. Holy freaking cute. And holy freaking well-behaved. He doesn’t bark. He doesn’t bite or nip. He doesn’t jump. I think he spends all of his available energy on looking cute and being awesome. He’s probably the best puppy in the history of puppies.

To round out my Sunday I had planned to go for a run – a very much-needed run given that the Toronto Waterfront Marathon is only 4 weeks away and I have so much training to do between now and then.

Despite knowing that I needed to run, Aidan and I opted to jump in the truck and introduce his new black fuzzball to my parents, and as it turned out, my Granny and my Aunt. Both are visiting my parents for the week so it was the perfect opportunity to visit. I don’t get to see either of them nearly often enough, so heading to my parents to see everyone and get a home cooked meal pretty much trumped any other plans. Especially when one considers that I’ve basically been eating out since the flood in mid August.

Because I’m crafty and such I had my brother drop me off both at the condo and my hotel before we headed out so that I could pick up a few things. Specifically, running shoes, running shorts, and several weeks worth of laundry. And thus began my most excellent visit my parents, aunt, granny, brother, sister-in-law, and nieces, while going for a run because I need the training, and eating a home cooked meal because oh-my-god I needed a home cooked meal, and doing my laundry because oh-my-god I had almost nothing left to wear, Sunday of awesomeness. 

Multitasking for the win!

It felt great to get out and run (even though I didn’t run as long as I had initially intended), and it was even better to spend some time with my family. The night, of course, was filled with great food1, great drinks2, and a lot of laughter. It was just what I needed.

I think I’m now ready to take on the coming week.


1 Mmmmm lamb and roast beets, carrots, and potatoes.

2 Did someone mention scotch?


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Beth says:

    Today must have been the day for multitasking, because Sarah and I both folded our laundry while chatting on the phone with each other. Because we really know how to par-tay!

    Glad you had such an awesome day and that you now have clean clothes to wear. Because lecturing in the nude is generally frowned upon.

Leave a Reply

