Home Sweet Broken Home

Someone’s happy I’m home.
Me too Elliot. Me too.

I’m writing this post from the comfort of my own bedroom. More specifically I’m sitting on my bed poking away at my laptop while I listen to the wee fuzzball softly purring beside me1. His tail is flicking back and forth – clearly a happy kitty. The song Angels from the new The xx album Coexist2 is playing in the background.

Inside, I’m squeeing just a little.

It feels so good to be back home, even if my home, sweet home remains slightly broken. The good news is that it’s on the mend. All of the drywalling is complete, including the required mudding and sanding. There’s something to be said about not being able to see the bones of my condo. Beyond the drywall, I also came home to a hot water thank that had been reconnected3. The fridge is back where it belongs. The floors have been cleaned.

It is a huge improvement over how I left the condo last week when I moved into the Holiday Inn.

Judging by the paper in front of my door, I think I was the only person in my wing of the Holiday Inn. Leaving was not difficult.

I won’t say that I can see the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel just yet – there are still so many things that need to be fixed. But it’s progress. Solid progress. Still remaining: the washer and dryer need to be repaired or replaced, the laundry room floor needs to be replaced, the carpets require new padding and a thorough cleaning, the lower kitchen cabinets need to be repaired. And all of my stuff that was once stored needs to be pulled apart, evaluated, and labelled appropriately: keep, sell, give-away or toss. My guess is that the give-away and toss piles are going to be huge4.

Oh, and there’s painting. Lots and lots of painting. And after that, a long overdue cleaning.

While much remains to be done I’m not going to dwell on these things tonight. Instead, I’m going to enjoy spending the night with the wee fuzzball in a condo that – if I close my eyes and pretend to ignore all of the mess that still remains – I can call home and truly feel it.


1 He clearly missed me because he’s been curled up next to me for well over an hour – paw outstretched so that it just rests on my forearm.

2 By the way, I’m loving this album. I’ve embedded Angels below for your listening pleasure.

3 Ensuring that I will be able to have a nice hot shower in the morning and thus won’t be a walking stink bomb. For those who might be scheduled to run into me tomorrow – you are welcome.

4 Purging is going to feel so good.


2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

