My Five-Star Weekend

20120923-231950.jpg
From the Zen Kitchen: vegan bourbon pecan pie, lemon tofu cheesecake, and chocolate cake. Also known as “get in my belly”.

Amanda and I are currently somewhere between Cobourg and Toronto, on our way home from Ottawa. We’re a little tired, but nothing that a little coffee and snack won’t fix.

My weekend in Ottawa with Matt and Monique was awesome. We spent most of our time at Monique’s parents’ house in Aylmer, Quebec. The house is beautiful and given its proximity to the Ottawa river, felt more like a five-star getaway. It was exactly the rejuvenating weekend I had hoped it would be.

When I woke up this morning I was greeted by a most amazing sunrise – the first of autumn I think. The pinks and oranges and blues were intense, and demanded that I pull myself free of the blanket cocoon I had wrapped myself in. There was a crispness in the air – the type of chill that only an autumn morning can bring. Today was begging to get started.

After breakfast we slowly packed up the car. Matt and I spent some time outside together chatting while taking in the incredible view of the river. Spending time with Matt is something I don’t get to do often enough, so I cherish these moments. He’s a giant slice of awesome and one of the most incredible people I know. I guess what I’m saying is that I miss his face on a daily basis.

The rest of the day included sauntering around Ottawa and a most amazing dinner at a vegan restaurant named Zen Kitchen. The food was incredible and the desserts were dairy free deliciousness. I will definitely be going back when next I’m in town. Possibly just to have a meal of desserts. I’m an adult, so I can do that.

Anyway, after an amazing weekend I’m feeling rejuvenated and ready for another crazy week.


My morning view. Not too shabby.
Autumn sets in over the Ottawa river
Today is shaping up to be pretty spectacular
Sunset over parliament

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

