Sure Sign Of The Apocalypse

The Ontario University Fair is this Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Be there!

Oh Monday – why are you always so full of meetings?

While today was no exception – I started my first meeting at 9am and finished the last one at 4:30 with only a half hour break between two of those meetings somewhere around 1 pm – it was probably the first Monday where pretty much every meeting was productive.

That almost never happens.

I’m sure it’s a sign of the coming apocalypse or perhaps a sign that I have had a break from reality; regardless, today was a lot of fun mixed in with a lot of running around. If every meeting-filled day were like this, I’d probably pass out from the simple joy of it.

Two of the meetings were particularly awesome.

The first – a meeting to discuss the upcoming Ontario University Fair – was a blast. Not necessarily because of the content covered, but because of the fair itself. You see, on Friday I will be venturing to Toronto to head to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre to meet and greet the expected 120000 Ontario high school students who attend this event every year. These will be students who are looking to determine which university they may want to attend – and I’ll get to play a small part in the decision for at least a few of them. While I’m sure the day will be long and tiring, I’m looking forward to meeting some of the best and brightest students who are considering Guelph, and specifically the School of Computer Science as their education of choice.

The second meeting that was particularly awesome was one that started late (my fault – thank you very much Red Cab for not showing up). The meeting was to discuss a project that my students are working on as part of their major course deliverable. I’m not going to get into the details of the project – those will be unveiled at a later date – but needless to say I’m excited about what they are doing and how the project could improve the lives of a lot of people.

Anyway, I’m off to dinner with a friend and then back to work. Because apparently while I was having fun in all of my meetings, I wasn’t getting any other work finished.


5 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

