A Cure For The Cold And Flu Seasons

Oh summer, how I love your sunshiny carefree laughing and carrying-on with friends kind of ways.

As I sit here looking out of my window1, I have realized that the last two days have really done an amazing job of reminding me that summer is over. The fact that it’s just after 7 and the sky is already dark really says it all.

You’ll have to excuse me, I don’t think I’ve finished mourning summer’s departure yet. I’ve got nothing against autumn2, I just miss all the heat and the sun and the blue-sky goodness.

Sweet baby jebus, autumn isn’t even a week old and I’m already wanting to hibernate. I clearly need to do something about this otherwise I’ll never survive the next 8 months.

Fortunately I have a bunch of things on my list that I could do, it’s just a matter of deciding on which of these to do. For example, there are at least two weddings early next year that will involve travel – both to locations where the sun never seems to leave. Obviously these are high on my list.

There’s also the Goofy Race in January. Since I’ve already committed a sizable fortune to that event, and since my friend Mark and I have agreed to run this together, it’s on the definitely happening list.

Between now and January, however, is where I’m drawing a blank. I’ve got a few races scheduled. I also have that little thing known as renovate the aftermath that is my flooded condo. And of course there is the course that I’m teaching – which to be honest is a lot of fun even if it is taking up about 80% more time than I had anticipated. I’m just not quite sure that this is enough to get me through. 

So, dear readers, I guess I’m left wondering what crazy and wonderful things I could add to my list over the next few months that will get me through the cold and flu seasons. I’m looking for personal challenges (of all sorts and sizes), weird and wonderful competitions, crazy adventures, outings, hikes, races, and all things in between. It could be related to photography, fashion, food, travel, yoga, tattoos, must listen to music, must see movies, or must read books. Be creative. Be awesome.

I can’t promise I’ll accomplish all of them, but I’ll give it a go at least. If you’ve got an idea, please leave it in the comments below.


1 Not an easy task given all of the stuff that is still in the way after the floods. Boo floods. Boo floods indeed.

2 Save for the fact that it paves the wave for that cold and stupid wintery season3.

3 Okay, okay. Hate might be a strong word. I mean, winter does have it’s perks – like snowshoeing, bobsledding, skiing, snowball fights, hot chocolate, and winter running. But it’s also the season where I freeze, and I hate me when I freeze.


One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

