Average Zzzzzzzzzzs

Sleep Cycle – get this app. Your sleepy time centre will thank you.

Several days ago I upgraded my iPhone to the new iOS.

Verdict: so far, so good.

Since migrating to the new iOS, my phone has been going mad with updates to the various apps that I had installed prior to the whole upgrade business. In most cases, the updates have been rather basic and boring. None seemed to include any major change to the functionality, at least not from a user standpoint. I have no idea what may have changed in the background of the app, and as a user I really don’t care so long as the program still works.

The other night, however, I noticed that one of the programs had some major revisions. The program with all of the changes is known as Sleep Cycle, and I’ve written about its use several times before (such as here, here, and here).

Why do I care about this update?

Good question!

Since Sleep Cycle is a program that I’ve been using religiously for the past 688 days, a change to its interface or database could be significant from my point of view. I decided to investigate further.

While many changes have been made, I have to say that all of them are welcome. The changes include a better user interface, the addition of extra statistics and plots, the ability to track activities prior to bed, the ability to track one’s mood on waking up, and the ability to listen to ambient white noise as you drift off to sleep. In a nutshell, each of these things were on my list of this app would be so much better if it only included…

So what does the new and improved Sleep Cycle do for me? Well, it still tells me that after 688 days of recorded sleep I have slept an average of 5 hours 33 minutes per night. It also tells me that last night my sleep quality was a low 47%. I may have also only been in bed for 4 hours and 2 minutes. Beyond that, the app informs me that

  • my average sleep quality is, at least in the past year, less than 60% (EEP),
  • coffee consumption and exercise seem to improve my sleep quality (although the data used to calculate this relationship are limited – for now),
  • eating late, having a stressful day, and drinking tea seem to lower my sleep quality (although as mentioned in the previous bullet, the data used here are limited – for now),
  • my best sleeps occur on the weekend, while my worst sleeps occur on Tuesday,
  • Saturdays and Sundays are the days when I spend the greatest amount of my day in bed; Tuesdays are the days when I spend the least amount of my day in bed, and
  • I tend to go to bed well after midnight.

I’m pretty excited about some of the new features – especially those related to the correlation of activities with my mood when I wake up and the quality of my sleep. I’ll obviously keep you posted on what I learn.

Anyway, with all of this talk about sleeping I think I’m going to head to bed.

Night all y’alls.


2 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s great! Bet there are already a lot of new features and perhaps, more application that suits your needs. It’s brilliant to know that they make these kind of applications to help us monitor our daily “zzzzzzz’s”. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

