The Very Serious Business Of Being A Grown-Up

Celebrating a very grown-up day with a very grown-up beverage and my wee fuzzball.

Today I decided to play grown-up. That is, I put on my big-boy pants and my big-boy shirt, brushed my hair and brushed my teeth (much like responsible adults do), packed up my wallet, gave Elliot a snuggle good-bye, and sauntered over to Starbucks for a tall coffee before I got down to the very serious business of being a grown-up.

For those not in the know, getting down to the very serious business of being a grown-up meant shopping for such things as washers, dryers, flooring, backsplashes, tile, sinks, counter tops, and vegan brownies. Okay, perhaps the vegan brownie wasn’t truly a part of my big-boy pants-wearing grown-up kind of day, but holy cripes on a cracker it was good. I digress.

As part of my mission to remodel after the floods-o-August, I decided to spend today shopping for things that I need in my condo. First and foremost – a washer and dryer because holy hell I can’t believe how much I take for granted the luxury of having laundry facilities in my own home. Over the past 6 weeks I’ve been doing laundry at my brother’s place, or at my parents’ place. While I’ve been absolutely appreciative of their hospitality, I really can’t stand the inconvenience.

Fortunately I was able to find a very grown-up laundry set at Leon’s. They are new and shiny and energy-efficient and shiny and made by Whirlpool and shiny and front loading and shiny and oh my god so shiny. It’s disturbing how excited I am about this purchase which should arrive October 10 – not that I’m counting or anything. Also, did I mention how shiny?

The next item on my list of grown-up things to do was flooring – specifically flooring for my living room. While only part of the carpet was damaged during the floods, I’ve opted to take this opportunity to replace it completely. So off to Home Depot I went. There I toyed between laminate and hard wood floors, ultimately opting for hardwood which was only slightly more expensive than the laminate that I oh-so-loved. And the hardwood floor – so shiny! Again, I can’t believe how excited I am about this purchase. I’m even more excited about actually having it installed. My condo is going to look so damn sexy.

Did I just find my size 6 kids costume for Halloween? I think so.

I spent some time looking at backsplashes, lighting, paint, and fireplaces but opted to stop the spending spree at the washer, dryer, and hardwood flooring. While today’s purchases were pretty much on budget, I can say for sure that the lighting, paint and fireplace are all well below the budget I had set aside. I’m not sure about the backsplash yet, so I can’t really call if it’ll be above or below budget. Of course I’m aiming for below budget because that’s what grown-ups do.

Of course, today couldn’t be all about being a grown-up. And for that reason I opted to look for a halloween costume. I found a very charming pumpkin costume at Home Sense. I figure I could just pair this with a nice set of green tights and I’m set for an evening of scaring the locals.

In case you were wondering, the costume is meant for a size 6 child. I’m not sure if that says more about the size of children these days, or perhaps about the size of me. Regardless, I think the costume is a winner.


10 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    OMG, hilarious! A size 6 kids costume!! Ha! Sounds like a very productive day of buying stuff and stuff and stuff….

    1. dangillis says:

      Just imagine the looks I got when I was trying it on.

  2. Anne says:

    You know that you are (partially) a grown up when you get excited for buying appliances., glad to know that you are still a kid inside and out?, great costume!

    1. dangillis says:

      Ya – very much a big kid. I still feel like I’m fooling everyone with this grown-up act I have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

