A Simple Pleasure

I shall call this Harvest Stew. And it shall be good.

After a rather successful day of professoring in my office on campus1, I have opted to continue the job of professoring at home. What exactly does that mean? Well, it means that I have a large pile of grading to do, so instead of working in my office where there was a major deficiency of food and tasty beverages, I have moved home where sadly there was also a major deficiency of food and tasty beverages.

But fear not dear readers. You’ll notice that I wrote that there was a major deficiency of food and tasty beverages in my home. You see, today I went for groceries! While this wouldn’t normally be something that I’d write about2, today’s trip to the local Metro was noteworthy because it has been well over a month since I’ve made the trek for foodstuffs. In fact, the last time I bought foodstuffs would have been prior to my condo flooding on August 14.

So as I mentioned I headed to Metro, and holy hell I went to town; eggplant, zucchini, carrots, mushrooms, parsnip, sweet potato, turnip, beans, onions, peppers, and garlic – oh my! So many veggies. So much colour. So good in my belly. Well, at least they will be once they finish cooking.

Cooking?

That’s right, dear readers, I’m also cooking. I couldn’t contain the excitement that came from buying fresh produce – I had to cook. This is something that hasn’t happened in a long time. To be honest, I can’t remember the last time that I actually used the stove. Seriously. Most of my meals of late have been eaten at a restaurant. Prior to the flood, I survived on english muffins and tuna, plus raw fruits and veggies. Cooking was too much of a chore.

Death to pepper!

But not today. Today was all about chopping and slicing and dicing and frying and stewing and spicing and taste-testing and taste-testing some more. And every moment of the experience felt great. My poor cutting board has probably been wondering why I’ve been neglecting it, my knives have likely getting stabby over lack of use3, and my pots and pans have likely been thinking they’ve been locked away in the cupboards forever, never to see the light of day again4. Fortunately for all of them, that changed tonight.

Of course, you’re probably wondering what I cooked. To be honest, I don’t know what to call it. I had intended to make chili but realized once I was home that I had no chili powder and no tomatoes. The result – a concoction of ground pork and ground turkey, plus a cornucopia of veggies – isn’t necessarily pretty, but it tastes pretty damn good. Hearty. Wholesome. Home cooked. While it’s definitely not five star restaurant fare, my belly is full. I am the picture of content.

It really is amazing how fortunate I am to be able to do something as simple as cook for myself in the comfort and safety of my own home. I need to remember that.


1 Which included catching up on emails that I missed on Friday (you may recall that I was at the Ontario University Fair all day), grading, setting up a quiz, grading some more, reviewing a poster, grading, providing comments on another document, grading, drinking coffee, and oh yeah – grading.

2 Unless I somehow bought the most amazing product ever.

3 Ha! Stabby! I kill me.

4 You know, if cutting boards and knives and pots and pans did things like think, and cry, and fear the darkness of the cupboards.


3 Comments Add yours

  1. Rick says:

    Awesome! Cooking is like the new pink.

Leave a Reply

